wheel/ tire combo - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > wheel/ tire combo

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineRockridge 4WD IS Taking Zone Offroad Suspension Lift Kits Rough Country Jeep Suspension Deals at Rockridge 4WD!

Unread 06-11-2013, 11:38 PM   #1
oddworxs
1997 ZJ 

wheel/ tire combo

so tomorrow i'll be ordering my wheel and tire combo. i plan on running open country m/t's 33x10.5x15. im fairly new to offroading. my question is, will i be encountering problems later on down the road mechanical wise for running this size tire (mainly with my transmission) it is my dd and every so often go light off road, no climbing or crazy stuff just dirt roads and minor stuff. will i need to change something to avoid problems? i hava a 4in lift also.

oddworxs is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-12-2013, 07:43 AM   #2
Maine1994ZJ
1993 ZJ 

The entire drivetrain should handle that without issue. 33s, however, will KILL your gas mileage.

I put 32s on mine and went from 15mpg to around 10mpg....

Time for a gear ratio swap!
Jeeps are addictive and there is no cure!!! Green Jeep Club #401
http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f22/george-weezy-movin-up-1716906/
Maine1994ZJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-12-2013, 07:49 AM   #3
Texas ZJ1
Jeep Jedi Master

1994 ZJ 

Your gas mileage will go down considerably. You should consider regearing the front and rear diffs to bring the ratio back to stock with 33s.

Hunter

94 5.9 Laredo 6.5 RE lift with 35 Maxxis Bighorns
and 33 Bridgestone Duelers
Detroit and true trac
Red Jeep Club Member
REDNECK JCM
Texas Jeep Owner #6
USN Jeep Club #4
http://www.kevinsoffroad.com/

For your performance needs:

kolak@kolakperformance.com