JeepForum.com

JeepForum.com (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/)
-   ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f13/)
-   -   wheel/ tire combo (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f13/wheel-tire-combo-1535416/)

oddworxs 06-12-2013 12:38 AM

wheel/ tire combo

so tomorrow i'll be ordering my wheel and tire combo. i plan on running open country m/t's 33x10.5x15. im fairly new to offroading. my question is, will i be encountering problems later on down the road mechanical wise for running this size tire (mainly with my transmission) it is my dd and every so often go light off road, no climbing or crazy stuff just dirt roads and minor stuff. will i need to change something to avoid problems? i hava a 4in lift also.

Maine1994ZJ 06-12-2013 08:43 AM

The entire drivetrain should handle that without issue. 33s, however, will KILL your gas mileage.

I put 32s on mine and went from 15mpg to around 10mpg....

Time for a gear ratio swap!:laugh:

Texas ZJ1 06-12-2013 08:49 AM

Your gas mileage will go down considerably. You should consider regearing the front and rear diffs to bring the ratio back to stock with 33s.

Hunter

PolkaPower 06-12-2013 11:27 AM

You will only make it up hill with the wind at your back. :laugh:

tucsonzj 06-12-2013 12:08 PM

not to mention you have to punch it to get her to go "fast" lol. My mpg's have stayed the same going to 31's with the 3.73 gear ratio.

L_Kilkenny 06-12-2013 01:26 PM

I've seen things like this for decades. Friend would buy 4x4, friend would lift 4x4, friend would put on big tires, friend would have no power, bad MPG and break crap left and right because they half assed the lift and ran too big of tire. In short, their rig generally sucks. I see three options here:

1) Look good with your existing lift and 33" tires but suck.
2) Tone the thing down a bit, not look so cool but at least you won't suck as bad.