Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

What did you do to your ZJ today?

4M views 55K replies 2K participants last post by  chetzar 
#1 ·
This thread is to serve as an inspiration to others modifying their ZJ's. Pretty simple, just post what you did to your ZJ today!

Today I shamefully took my Jeep to get the oil changed because it was to hot to change it myself.

#12,202 ·
SchizophrenicMC said:
Sucks that you have to sell it....

Of course, I'm torn about selling mine. I want a YJ, but damn if I'm not in love with my ZJ.
Why not have both?
I found one fairly priced to drive while I did an engine swap in my ZJ a couple months ago. PO included a clutch thinking that was the issue, but during my test drive I noticed grinding from the rear. I could move the driveshaft in circles. He came off $1k on the price. Turned out to be an outer pinion bearing. I replaced it for about $50 including fluids.

Here's some pics of the ZJ engine swap. I'm no mechanic, this was my first engine swap (and probably the last) and it took me right at 1 month.

I had just under 315,000 miles when the #2 piston skirt broke. Swapped in an engine from a '99 XJ with a youthful 186,000 miles. Only $300 bucks. She runs like a champ again. I just couldn't see parting out the ZJ, i thought about it for about 5 seconds.

Edit: just looked at my post and that 1st pic of a ZJ isn't mine, just one from off here for an idea to cut front bumper. Added another pic of YJ with ZJ behind it in the garage...mid engine swap.

Attachments

#12,203 ·
How hard is it to take the front bumper off? I'm getting ready to put on my front tow hooks.