want to swap ECU's - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > want to swap ECU's

FS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye KitTHE NEW! VANCO DUAL MODE 15/16″ Big Brake Kit w/BlaFS: Wranger BRIGHT License Plate LED! Just $3! Great value

Reply
Unread 08-15-2010, 12:14 AM   #1
teenwolf1393
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 257
want to swap ECU's

ok so i have the infamous stalling stuttering problem, ivve decided to bite the bullet and replace my ecu. i have an ecu from a previous jeep that i owned, i want to know if i can swap the units.

current jeep with the bad ecu is a 97 GC i6 4x2
old jeep 96 GC i6 4x4

can i use the old ecu on my current jeep, is it a simple matter of getting it flashed or do i need one specifically for a 97 4x2??????

teenwolf1393 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-15-2010, 08:17 AM   #2
JS97ZJ
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dingmans Ferry, PA
Posts: 2,015
Have you cleaned out the PCM connector w/ tuner spray and apply dieletric greese yet? Common problem on 96-98 JGC.
JS97ZJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-15-2010, 10:43 PM   #3
teenwolf1393
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 257
from what ive read that is a temprary fix
teenwolf1393 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-16-2010, 11:54 AM   #4
sdavisbone
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 101
Try this... google "ECM interchange and the last 4 digits of your original computer, with any suffix letters" One of the results should be "Smart Page". It crosses all of the OEM computers to an AC Delco version. However, it should show you interchangeable ones. But usually if all of the features are not identical then certain things will not run the same until you have it flashed at a dealer.

Here are the results for my ECM (98 GC 4.0L) Smart Page
sdavisbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-16-2010, 03:25 PM   #5
JS97ZJ
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dingmans Ferry, PA
Posts: 2,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by teenwolf1393 View Post
from what ive read that is a temprary fix
here is the fix if the computer connections are at fault....

https://millerspecialtools.spx.com/Detail.aspx?id=247&gid=15

http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2103683

http://www.onlinecomponents.com/buy/...O/3-1447221-3/

There is a min order of $35 that would be 100 pins, I have an order in and should be in at the end of the month.
I'll have some left over if your interested.
JS97ZJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-23-2010, 11:14 PM   #6
teenwolf1393
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdavisbone View Post
Try this... google "ECM interchange and the last 4 digits of your original computer, with any suffix letters" One of the results should be "Smart Page". It crosses all of the OEM computers to an AC Delco version. However, it should show you interchangeable ones. But usually if all of the features are not identical then certain things will not run the same until you have it flashed at a dealer.

Here are the results for my ECM (98 GC 4.0L) Smart Page
which number is the part number on the ecm. there are like 10 different number combos
teenwolf1393 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-24-2010, 08:57 AM   #7
sdavisbone
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 101
Mine is P56044513AB, all other parts numbers that I've seen for the same year are identical until the last 4 digits and the suffix letters. Hope that helps.
sdavisbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-29-2010, 03:03 PM   #8
teenwolf1393
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 257
my other ecm is from a 96 it doesnt have the numerical sufiix that the 97+ does
teenwolf1393 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-29-2010, 09:25 PM   #9
ratmonkey
R.I.P.
 
ratmonkey's Avatar
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: , Pennsylvania
Posts: 19,805
You need all the numbers matching. The letters appear to be firmware revisions.

96 ecu most likely won't work with a 97. They are year specific after 95.
__________________
'97 zj 5.2, some stuff, some other suff, and some things that even work sometimes.

ratmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ecu , pcm , stalling , swap
Thread Tools


Suggested Threads





Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.