VIC Swap - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > VIC Swap

Clayton Off Road JK Short Arm Suspension Kits~Artec JK 1 TON SWAP~Engo winches available at www.rockridge4wd.com! Free shipp

Reply
Unread 11-07-2005, 01:55 PM   #1
-Joe-
Registered User
1995 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 4,634
VIC Swap

There was a post on if this could be done a little while ago.




Just a shot of the non-digital information center installed.




After removing the 6 screws holding the trim on.





Remove the 3 screws holding the VIC in. You can see the non-digital only has 1 harness plug in the back.





The digital has two and the second harness plug is tucked behind the other beneath the AC controls.





Digital vic installed.





Here you can see it working. Tells me I have a bad washer fluid sensor (Would make sense because I dont have one - I jumpered the sensor connector and it changed to a low fluid warning, so im guessing it uses resistance to measure this, i plan to dig a pot out and see if i can find the resistance to make it think its full) And a rear lamp failure (Theres been several posts about this one already)

Not sure if its a straight forward on other years, but it can be done.

__________________
- Joe -

'95 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo I6 4.0L
242TC - Extreme Engineering 2" Front Lift/1.75" Rear Lift - ES9000 Shocks + JKS BPEs
Moog Cargo Control Springs
Magnaflow Converter - Dynomax Muffler
235/75/15 AT Uniroyal Liberator Tires
-Joe- is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-07-2005, 02:08 PM   #2
RAAB3485
Viewer Discretion Advised
 
RAAB3485's Avatar
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3,240
Good write up!
__________________
Eric

Colorado Jeep Club Member #1
RAAB3485 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-09-2005, 06:57 AM   #3
jeepholic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Flat South Florida
Posts: 1,221
A Picture is worth a thousand words!
Here's a cheap one if any one wants to give it a try;
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Jeep-...13242640QQrdZ1
__________________
I use a Jeep
You drive a car
Big difference.

94 I6 ZJ at 4", 33's and front locker and 4.11 gears. Swampy Bypass.
[B]Black Jeep Club Member Ver. 2 #51[/B]
jeepholic is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-09-2005, 08:15 AM   #4
mailforjon
Registered User
2005 WK 
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 998
so the second harness for the digital VIC is already wired in the laredo and just needs to be plugged in?

can you give us a little more info as to what wires you jumpered for the coolant sensor and if youve had time to figure out how to deal with the low coolant issue?

thakns. good write up!
mailforjon is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-09-2005, 10:10 AM   #5
deiol
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mailforjon
so the second harness for the digital VIC is already wired in the laredo and just needs to be plugged in?

can you give us a little more info as to what wires you jumpered for the coolant sensor and if youve had time to figure out how to deal with the low coolant issue?

thakns. good write up!
Yeah, does the Laredo have the 2 plugs and most of the sensors for the digital VIC? What year did the Grand start to feature the digital VIC? Thanks
deiol is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-02-2013, 02:07 PM   #6
Yoda95
Registered User
1995 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 45
Bump, pics gone bad, unanswered q's.
Yoda95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-02-2013, 02:48 PM   #7
AVR2
Web Wheeler
1993 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 2,288
The ZJ had the "digital VIC" from the beginning. Strictly speaking the VIC is just called the VIC; the much more basic display unit that was stock in the Laredo is called the GDM (Graphic Display Module).

93-95 VICs use two harness plugs, 96-98 VICs use one plug.
AVR2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-02-2013, 06:15 PM   #8
leftfield6
Where are my damn keys?
 
leftfield6's Avatar
1964  
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Beautiful South
Posts: 256
Not all JGCs had the plug in the dash though. My former ZJ, a 1998 Laredo, did NOT have the connector or harness waiting in the dash for the VIC
__________________
(Current) 98 Grand Cherokee Limited 5.9
http://www.fuelly.com/driver/leftfield6/grand-cherokee

(former) 98 Grand Cherokee Laredo
77 CJ-5
75 CJ-5
leftfield6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-02-2013, 09:22 PM   #9
coltman151
Registered User
1995 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: maryville, tennessee
Posts: 213
My 95 Laredo does for a reference point.
__________________
95 Laredo 4.0, 2" RE BB, RC N2.0 Shocks, Custom Roof-Mount Light Bar w/ 6 lights, Bumpers deleted, Homemade sway bar discos, Michelin LTX 31x10.50s, and a Dog Box :)
Planned: Homemade Spare tire carrier, double shear front track bar, 4 adjustable rear control arms, New Rims and 33" Wrangler MT/Rs or BFG M/T KO's w/ LOTS of trimming.
coltman151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-04-2013, 03:49 AM   #10
coralman
green backs to no backs
 
coralman's Avatar
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: florida
Posts: 4,437
My 1998 laredo had the plug,minus some needed wiring. I overlooked it a couple of times because it was wrapped up in some gooey tape.
__________________
Move over bear.I'm tired of working on the jeep

Links to axle rebuilds, mount replace,a/c box rebuild,ect in history section of my profile page
coralman is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-04-2013, 03:54 AM   #11
leftfield6
Where are my damn keys?
 
leftfield6's Avatar
1964  
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Beautiful South
Posts: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by coralman View Post
My 1998 laredo had the plug,minus some needed wiring. I overlooked it a couple of times because it was wrapped up in some gooey tape.

Just as a point of reference, my 98 ZJ that did not have the VIC plugs was a Canadian Model. Maybe that makes a difference.
__________________
(Current) 98 Grand Cherokee Limited 5.9
http://www.fuelly.com/driver/leftfield6/grand-cherokee

(former) 98 Grand Cherokee Laredo
77 CJ-5
75 CJ-5
leftfield6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Suggested Threads





Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.