Vic issue - JeepForum.com
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 06-03-2013, 06:05 PM Thread Starter
dusterdude
Registered User
1996 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: hopewell
Posts: 2,048
Vic issue

Tore the dash apart to install a new radio and antenna,i disconnectef the battery during this and when i reattached the cables,all the vic does is flash,i cant set the time or date.any ideas??

dusterdude is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 06-03-2013, 07:57 PM
kg6mov
Hears the voices
 
kg6mov's Avatar
1996 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Cupertino
Posts: 9,907
The vic may be dead, they do that. The new radio may also have confused it, the factory radio can set the time on the vic so they do communicate.

They're cheap, not a lot of people like them. You can try swapping a new one in (I think any year, but do a post 96 to be safe) or replace it with the cubby from a 2wd ZJ.

They are more or less independent of the rest of the vehicle, they do show what t case mode you are in, helpful if the case doesn't want to engage. Other things like coolant/washer fluid low and if you left the turn signal on are mostly superfluous.

1996 ZJ Green Laredo V8, 2.5" OME and Bilsteins, 33's, Holes drilled in the roof.
1998 ZJ 5.9 - Junked
1984 F250, 460 BB, T19, work truck/future tow pig
1987 Mercedes 300D Turbo, the diesel daily, 30mpg in style

Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas ZJ1 View Post
I heard someone yell "mall crawler" from the back porch. I'll go see who said that. Be right back.
kg6mov is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 06-04-2013, 09:14 PM
dunkeye11
Registered User
1996 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 789
Switch board time!!
dunkeye11 is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 06-04-2013, 09:53 PM
AVR2
Web Wheeler
1993 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 3,559
Quote:
Originally Posted by kg6mov View Post
The vic may be dead, they do that. The new radio may also have confused it, the factory radio can set the time on the vic so they do communicate
The CCD bus communication between the factory radio and the VIC is completely non-essential. If you fit a non-factory radio it doesn't affect the VIC's operation at all, you just have to set the time manually.

Quote:
You can try swapping a new one in (I think any year, but do a post 96 to be safe)
Has to be post-96. The 93-95 VIC uses a 2-plug connector configuration, 96-98 uses one plug.
AVR2 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome