Very rough idle - JeepForum.com

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 Old 03-04-2012, 07:41 PM Thread Starter
Bannerman53
Registered User
1996 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Wilmington
Posts: 73
Very rough idle

I have a 1996 jeep grand cherokee laredo V8 5.2 liter, all stock. Its been sitting in the driveway for awhile, and when I charged the battery up and started it, it wouldnt idle unless you kept your foot on the gas. I then replaced the TPS(Throttle Position Sensor) and cleaned out thte throttle body with carb-cleaner and an old toothbrush. This seemed to do the trick and the idle problem was fixed(mostly). This was last weekend. Every day since then, when I start it, the RPM's jump from 7550 to 900(back and forth). Im 99% positive that this is a leak in a vacuum hose(as I had the same problem on my 2004 jeep). But today when I went out to take it for a spin, It started up, but idled really rough. It would go down to 200 rpm, then try and surge back up to about 650-750, but then it died. So I immediatley tried to start it again, but this time I held my foot on the gas so It would get to about 1500 rpm's, and after about 1-2 minutes of revving it, when I took my foot off the gas, it settled back into th 750-900 rpm range(but it was still dancing back and forth). I think this could either be the IAC or a bad fuel filter(or both). Any suggestions or insight?

P.S. My drivebelt(or fanbelt or serpentine belt or whatever you want to call it) is squeaky and needs to be replaced, but this probably doesn't have anything to do with the above problems, right?

Bannerman53 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 Old 03-04-2012, 07:47 PM
jnowak
Registered User
1993 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: dahlonega
Posts: 495
Iac. Classic if u have to put ur foot on pedal to contol idle its iac. No, the belt wont affect it unless ur voltmeter is dropping below 10v. Than its not turning alternator enough.
jnowak is offline  
post #3 of 20 Old 03-04-2012, 10:27 PM
DeejayZeejay
Registered User
1994 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Macomb
Posts: 325
May just need to adjust idle...always start with simple stuff.

Jeeps 4 Life!
DeejayZeejay is offline  
post #4 of 20 Old 03-04-2012, 10:36 PM
PolkaPower
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The Abyss
Posts: 19,409
You don't adjust the idle. It's computer controlled. Pull the IAC and clean it off with a tooth brush and some carb cleaner.
PolkaPower is online now  
post #5 of 20 Old 03-04-2012, 10:47 PM
DeejayZeejay
Registered User
1994 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Macomb
Posts: 325
The 5.2 has throttle adjustment. If too low, idle will be erradic or stall out.

Jeeps 4 Life!
DeejayZeejay is offline  
post #6 of 20 Old 03-04-2012, 10:48 PM
PolkaPower
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The Abyss
Posts: 19,409
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeejayZeejay View Post
The 5.2 has throttle adjustment. If too low, idle will be erradic or stall out.

Are you talking about the screw on the TB?
PolkaPower is online now  
post #7 of 20 Old 03-04-2012, 10:55 PM
DeejayZeejay
Registered User
1994 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Macomb
Posts: 325
Yes

Jeeps 4 Life!
DeejayZeejay is offline  
post #8 of 20 Old 03-04-2012, 10:58 PM
PolkaPower
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The Abyss
Posts: 19,409
You shouldn't have to touch that at all and that definitely would not cause what's happening to OP's rig.
PolkaPower is online now  
post #9 of 20 Old 03-04-2012, 11:00 PM
DeejayZeejay
Registered User
1994 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Macomb
Posts: 325
Well my idle was acting up and I adjusted that. Now my idle sits perfect.

Jeeps 4 Life!
DeejayZeejay is offline  
post #10 of 20 Old 03-04-2012, 11:10 PM
hdrocknroll
Registered User
1995 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Flint
Posts: 2,274
IDLE AIR CONTROL (IAC) MOTOR—PCM OUTPUT
The IAC motor is mounted to the back of the throttle
body (Fig. 9) and is controlled by the powertrain
control module (PCM).
The throttle body has an air control passage that
provides air for the engine at idle (the throttle plate
is closed). The IAC motor pintle protrudes into the
air control passage (Fig. 12) and regulates air flow
through it. Based on various sensor inputs, the powertrain
control module (PCM) adjusts engine idle
speed by moving the IAC motor pintle in and out of
the air control passage. The IAC motor is positioned
A (factory adjusted) set screw is used to mechanically
limit the position of the throttle body throttle
plate.
Never attempt to adjust the engine idle
speed using this screw.
All idle speed functions are
controlled by the PCM.

Always !! Keep A Firm Grip On Your Tool !!

Watch Out For The Air Hose Gone Wild!! Or Wear A Cup,: True Story


Quote:
Originally Posted by rooster51 View Post
Whats the worse that can happen? Your jeeps already broke.


hdrocknroll is offline  
post #11 of 20 Old 03-04-2012, 11:17 PM
PolkaPower
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The Abyss
Posts: 19,409
Yea, it may have adjusted the idle but it didn't fix what was causing the problem.
PolkaPower is online now  
post #12 of 20 Old 03-05-2012, 08:20 PM Thread Starter
Bannerman53
Registered User
1996 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Wilmington
Posts: 73
Im just going to clean out the IACV with some carb-cleaner and tooth-brush, be back in a little to tell if i solves the problem.
Bannerman53 is offline  
post #13 of 20 Old 03-05-2012, 08:28 PM
E-rok
Registered User
1996 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 622
IACV is always the first thing suggested, but it can be a number of things, the magnum motors are notorious for rough idle.

2011 WK2 Laredo X Hemi
2013 Ram 2500 Cummins
E-rok is offline  
post #14 of 20 Old 04-15-2012, 09:40 AM Thread Starter
Bannerman53
Registered User
1996 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Wilmington
Posts: 73
Took the IACV out to clean it and there was nothing on it at all. It looks brand new. What else could this be?
Bannerman53 is offline  
post #15 of 20 Old 04-15-2012, 09:47 AM
JasonStebbins
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3,138
Wiggle your fuel injectors while it is running. My first ZJ did this occasionally until I replaced the fuel rail. How about the CPS? It controls the spark and fuel injectors also. Maybe you have a fouled out spark plug or bad wire or even a cracked distributor/cap? I would start by checking the basic tune-up stuff for an erratic idle.

Poop
JasonStebbins is offline  
Reply

Tags
fuel filter , iac , MAP sensor , rough idle , tps

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Jeep Forums Replies Last Post
Rough Idle divco13 ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum 1 05-30-2011 07:56 PM
02 Gc With Rough Idle, 4.0 Rough... evanlaczi ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum 4 05-09-2009 03:53 PM
3.7 has a rough idle gsxr150 WK Grand Cherokee & XK Commander Forum 12 05-31-2007 10:13 AM
Rough Idle/High Idle/Weird Shifting FIXED!! UKFan4Sure! ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum 5 04-28-2007 07:43 AM
Rough Idle mzykzf ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum 1 10-15-2004 08:41 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome