transmission - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > transmission

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineThe Solution to Radius Arm Bind - Meet Lock-N-LoadFS: Jeep Fog Light LED Bulbs! Several Brightness Options!

Unread 09-24-2003, 05:13 PM   #1
kocka80

transmission

Hi everyone

I have a 96 GC and my problem is that the transmission sometimes does not switch between ( i think) 3rd and 4th.The only way is to switch then is to put it back to neutral and then back to drive then it shift to 4th . Is anyone have any idea what this is could be?Im new to this car , just bought it a few weeks ago. I apresiate every answer and thank you all in advance.
sorry about thje english.

kocka80 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 09-24-2003, 05:56 PM   #2
JAURS

I had a similar problem with my GC, but I never had to put it in neutral to get it to shift into 4th. My shift cable in the transmission was adjusted and the fluid changed and this solved the problem, however I now have a new problem with 4th gear, but this is another story. How many miles are on your GC and do you know if the previous owner's ever flushed the transmission or serviced it?
JAURS is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 09-24-2003, 06:35 PM   #3
kocka80

I have 162000 miles in mine.and I bought it from a smalldealer
I think the atf was changed becouse i looked under the car and the transmission oilpan is superclean compare to the rest of the trans. also I noticed that the front driveshaft is missing(suppose to be a 4x4)of course they told me that i took it out to get an other one .stupid thinking .but anyway thank you for the reply