Transfer case (249) question - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > Transfer case (249) question

Labor Day Sale!FS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye KitEngo winches available at www.rockridge4wd.com! Free shipp

Unread 07-02-2011, 11:28 AM   #1
Crispy505
1998 XJ Cherokee 

Transfer case (249) question

Greetings, I am new to this forum and a new jeep owner. I bought my 98 GC a couple weeks ago and have been working on it constantly so that it can be drivable once again. I have some experience as a mechanic and have been doing everything myself. Lately, I've noticed a bad transmission fluid leak coming from the shaft seal where the transmission connects to the transfer case. My first question, will I have to drop the tranny to replace this seal?

Now, as I was preparing to work on the transmission, I pulled the drain plug from the transfer case and much to my surprise nothing came out. So imagine the last person who owned the jeep has been driving around with no fluid in the transfer case. My question is, should I go ahead and replace this transfer case or seal it up and hope for the best? Is there a way to tell if the case is going bad? It shifts fine and doesn't have any noticeable problems. The jeep has 213K miles on it.

Crispy505 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-02-2011, 11:35 AM   #2
Dodgeram1989
1976 FSJ Cherokee 

You need to drop the transfer case to change that seal. Wouldn't hurt to crack the tcase open why you have it out and inspect it
Dodgeram1989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-02-2011, 03:14 PM   #3
FPKites
ZJjazzyJim

1996 ZJ