Trans fluid change - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > Trans fluid change

Currie Antirock, Currectlync & Lift Kits on Sale!Oconee Off-Road Free Shipping Lifts Tires Bumpers Tops andIntroducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Unread 10-09-2013, 08:55 PM   #1
big98tnzj
1998 ZJ 

Trans fluid change

my 98 v8 has 197,000 miles and the trans has started acting up lately. the fluid is burnt and reeks to hell and back. i've had it since mar of this year and dont know any of the service records. im an ase certified master tech working on certs for heavy duty diesel so i know my way around cars. i know once it gets to a certain point you shouldnt change the filter, just the fluid. i'm just lookin for some other jeep lovers advice on what to do.

big98tnzj is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 10-09-2013, 09:19 PM   #2
xcaliber81
1994 ZJ 

Why would you not change the filter? Ive never heard of that before.
Unread 10-09-2013, 09:56 PM   #3
big98tnzj
1998 ZJ 

If the jeep trans is the same as gm trans are, then if you dont change the filter every 50,000 miles like you're supposed to then it will mess it up i've seen too many of them come into shops where i have worked because they didn't change the filter when it came due and when they finally did it ripped the torque converter out of it because it got used to the old filter where it was clogged up from debris that it started engaging early or too late
Unread 10-09-2013, 10:07 PM   #4
xcaliber81
1994 ZJ