Is torque converter supposed to lockup? - JeepForum.com

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 11-07-2013, 08:22 PM Thread Starter
Malachi73
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ontario, CA
Posts: 71
Is torque converter supposed to lockup?

Ok, not sure what exactly its called, but I understand that after OD, you should drop a few more RPMs when the Torque Converter locks up, right? Or, am I missing something?

Reason I ask is my 98 doesn't seem to be doing that. My last drop in RPM is OD, I run about 2300 or so RPM at 65mph. Is that normal?

Malachi73 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 11-07-2013, 08:42 PM
ZeeJay1997
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,662
If the overdrive control switch is in the normal ON position, the clutch will engage after the shift to fourth gear, and above approximately 45 mph. If the control switch is in the OFF position, the clutch will engage after the shift to third gear, at approximately 35 mph at light throttle.

you should feel it unlock as you coast down from cruise. mine runs 2k at 65
ZeeJay1997 is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 11-07-2013, 09:09 PM
JasonStebbins
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3,138
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZeeJay1997 View Post
If the overdrive control switch is in the normal ON position, the clutch will engage after the shift to fourth gear, and above approximately 45 mph. If the control switch is in the OFF position, the clutch will engage after the shift to third gear, at approximately 35 mph at light throttle.

you should feel it unlock as you coast down from cruise. mine runs 2k at 65
48mph/38mph in my ZJ.

I'm around 1900-2000 @ 65mph. With overdrive off, around 2300 @ 55mph.

Poop
JasonStebbins is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 11-07-2013, 09:13 PM
ZeeJay1997
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,662
ZeeJay1997 is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 11-07-2013, 09:25 PM
zj97ltd
Registered User
1993 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Cape Coral
Posts: 1,078
My converter stopped locking up on a Monday morning. Wednesday it quit all together and I couldn't move...
zj97ltd is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 11-07-2013, 11:49 PM
dnuccio
Registered User
1995 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 3,483
you can see if its working by getting up to a cruising speed (45+) and very lightly tap the brake pedal. RPM should jump slightly as the converter unlocks

Reliability is relative
R.I.P. Ratmonkey
dnuccio is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 11-08-2013, 04:19 AM
Candymancan
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 5,398
Like everyone said... You can also keep your foot on the gas (when your above 50mph) and slightly touch your brake pedal it should kick right out and unlock and youll see rpm rise.. If not then your torque convertor isn't working...

Our 4.0 locks at like 50mph, the 5.9 locks at around 35-40mph depending how light im tapping the pedal

2013 6.2 V8 Camaro SS 30k
98 5.9 V8 ZJ 180k
98 4.0 I6 ZJ 240k
90 5.9 SJ Grand Wagoneer 110k
Candymancan is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 11-09-2013, 12:55 PM
Mickey_D
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: 40 3'42.36"N 112 2'16.73"W
Posts: 6,867
Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonStebbins View Post
With overdrive off, around 2300 @ 55mph.
Using this evidence, sounds like the OP isn't getting into OD, but the TCL is working fine.

1997 ZJ 5.2 Orvis, Baby!
1953 Willys M100 trailer Tagalong
________________
[_][][][][][][][][_]


Mickey_D is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 11-10-2013, 07:11 AM Thread Starter
Malachi73
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ontario, CA
Posts: 71
Thanks all for the replies.

I'm pretty sure my OD is working, cause if I turn it off my rpms jump up, and if I turn it back on they drop.

But, if I tap the brake pedal at 65mph, the rpms do not jump up. And, I do not get another drop in RPM after 4th gear (OD).

So, it sounds like my TCL is not working.

Any ideas as to the cause.

FWIW, I just bought the Jeep with 158K on the Odometer, but was told by the seller that he just had an engine put in with only 104K on it. So, could it be something that was done wrong with the engine swap?
Malachi73 is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 11-11-2013, 12:02 AM
dnuccio
Registered User
1995 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 3,483
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malachi73 View Post

FWIW, I just bought the Jeep with 158K on the Odometer, but was told by the seller that he just had an engine put in with only 104K on it. So, could it be something that was done wrong with the engine swap?
could very well be

Reliability is relative
R.I.P. Ratmonkey
dnuccio is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome