TCM location??? - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > TCM location???

JK Front Lower Adjustable Control Arms!QTP Low Profile Cutouts Now @ MarylandSpeed- Free ShippingOPTIC ARMOR WINDOWS all sale now !!!!!!!!

Reply
Unread 09-06-2006, 09:53 AM   #1
scaaar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: ohio
Posts: 5
TCM location???

Hi. I have a 99 Grand Cherokee V8 and am trying to locate the TCM to replace it. Can anyone help me with its location and possiblly removal instructions? Thanks!

scaaar is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-06-2006, 09:59 AM   #2
rm2001wj
Web Wheeler
 
rm2001wj's Avatar
2001 WJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 3,042
Passenger side toward the rear but not on the firewall. It's kind of thick aluminum with cooling fins. Snould be easy to remove after you unplug the wireing harness.
__________________
2001 WJ Limited with Quadra-Drive, Kenne Bell Supercharger, 3-inch Kolak exhaust, Stillen rotors (F/R) and MM pads, Addco sway bars (F/R).
rm2001wj is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-06-2006, 11:41 AM   #3
scaaar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: ohio
Posts: 5
Thanks for the help. I cant seem to remove the bolt holding the wiring harness in place....it just keeps turning but the harness isnt coming out...any suggestions?
scaaar is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-06-2006, 02:41 PM   #4
rm2001wj
Web Wheeler
 
rm2001wj's Avatar
2001 WJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 3,042
There are two tabs on each side of the harness connector that slide into slots on the TCM connector. You will probably need to slightly pry those tabs away from the slots before the harness connector will come out.

BTW, you haven't said why you want to replace the TCM. No offense intended, but there is more to this than just a simple take out the old and put in the replacement. Do the terms "Quick Learn" and "Drive Learn" mean anything to you?
rm2001wj is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-06-2006, 03:14 PM   #5
AgitatedPancake
Registered User
2001 WJ 
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sac, California
Posts: 3,931
are the PCM (Powertrain Control Module) and the TCM (im guessing Transmission Control Module) the same thing? I know the PCM is where you said, i thought the TCM was under the console but I could just be crazy....
__________________
To contact me, email Greg@Frobotfab.com
Frobot Fabrication Facebook
01 WJ 5 Speed Claytons LA's, 36" Iroks, 35 spline 9" rear, Custom Ruffstuff 60-9" front axle.
Build Thread: http://www.mallcrawlin.com/forum//showthread.php?t=7387
AgitatedPancake's Youtube Channel
AgitatedPancake is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-06-2006, 03:45 PM   #6
rm2001wj
Web Wheeler
 
rm2001wj's Avatar
2001 WJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 3,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by AgitatedPancake
are the PCM (Powertrain Control Module) and the TCM (im guessing Transmission Control Module) the same thing? I know the PCM is where you said, i thought the TCM was under the console but I could just be crazy....
Not cracy, but maybe confused. PCM and TCM (yes, Transmission Control Module) are two different objects. The TCM is as described above. The PCM is in the same vicinity only mounted to the firewall with the connectors facing toward the front. The TCM connector faces to the side, the driver side.
rm2001wj is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-06-2006, 10:58 PM   #7
scaaar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: ohio
Posts: 5
Well, the jeep is in limp home mode....and the error code is P1698. I tried changing the two transmission speed sensors just in case but that didnt fix the problem. I found a TCM for $50 so figured I'd try that next before taking it in to get fleeced.
scaaar is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-07-2006, 08:54 AM   #8
rm2001wj
Web Wheeler
 
rm2001wj's Avatar
2001 WJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 3,042
OK, I understand why you want to try replacing the TCM. If the replacement allows it to get out of the limp home, then you did good. After that, you should take it to the dealer for a "quick learn" procedure that must be done with the DRB scan tool. According to the FSM:
Quote:
This program allows the electronic transmission to recalibrate itself. This will provide the best possible transmission operation. The quick learn procedure should be performed if any of the following procedures are performed:
- Transmission assembly replacement
- Transmission control module replacement
- Solenoid pack replacement
- Clutch plate and/or seal replacement
- Valve body replacement or recondition
Good luck!
rm2001wj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Suggested Threads





Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.