Tail Light Issues...... - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > Tail Light Issues......

Building a Bumper?Ruffstuff Axle Simple Swap Kit!~Artec JK 1 TON SWAP~

Unread 03-21-2005, 06:09 PM   #1
Phathead

Tail Light Issues......

Hello everyone I am a total Jeep newbie....but I just bought a 1998 5.9 Limited with 66,000 miles and I absolutely love it......Here is my issue...

The other day I am driving to work and the Vehicle Information Center Display says "Rear Lamp Failure"....Like I said this is my first vehicle with all these cool bells and whistles....so I change the rear bulbs for my taillights....pretty easy...I check everything out....all lights appear to be working....but the Display still reads "Rear Lamp Failure". I check the owners manual, and it says that once the bulbs are replaced the system should automatically reset on the next startup.....this is obviously not happening....

Anyone have any experience with this.....?? Is there some sort of reset that I don't know about??? Any help is greatly appreciated...this is just a tad bit annoying....

Thanks in advance...

Phathead is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-21-2005, 06:29 PM   #2
jeepholic

I am guessing you have the wrong bulb some where, make sure that all bulbs including the third barke light have the right bulb as stated in the manual I never had.

94 I6 ZJ at 4", 33's and front locker and 4.11 gears. Swampy Bypass.
[B]Black Jeep Club Member Ver. 2 #51[/B]
jeepholic is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-21-2005, 06:32 PM   #3
greasefingers
1994 ZJ 

If all checks out fine, then disconnect the battery.

94 Black Laredo 4-Liter with QuadraTrac (42RE trans & NP249 TC) 200,000 + miles purchased new