t-case/speedo issue - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > t-case/speedo issue

FS: Jeep Fog Light LED Bulbs! Several Brightness Options! SPARTAN LOCKERS are on sale BIG TIME at ROCKRIDGE 4WD!Yukon Ultimate 35 axle kit for c/clip axles with Yukon Zip

Reply
Unread 08-26-2013, 05:09 PM   #1
worsrider4047
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: cedarburg, Wisconsin
Posts: 196
t-case/speedo issue

So on my niner, I replace the t case with a 242 about 2 years ago, over the weekend I replaced that with a 231 out of a 93 Cherokee, everything is in and bolted up. So on my test drive the speedo didn't work and it wouldn't shift out of 1st gear
About a year ago I got a code for output shaft sensor, but being everything worked I didn't do anything about it, im still getting the code after the swap so I got a new sensor that goes on the output of the case, that still didn't work
Any thoughts on the issue? I'm quite puzzled (I do have another sensor on order in case the first one I got was bad )

worsrider4047 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-26-2013, 05:22 PM   #2
newfieZJ
Registered User
1995 ZJ 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: , Alberta
Posts: 6,452
You sure it's not the trans output speed sensor you need ? What code ?

I would first try removing it and cleaning it . it's a magnetic pick up type . They get plenty stuck to them . I always just clean them when doing a fluid change . Beware , you will loose fluid removing this sensor IIRC
newfieZJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-26-2013, 05:48 PM   #3
worsrider4047
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: cedarburg, Wisconsin
Posts: 196
I did pick one up, haven't put it in yet but I'll try to clean it before I replace, still strange to me that it worked that morning but not that night after the swap
worsrider4047 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-26-2013, 05:59 PM   #4
newfieZJ
Registered User
1995 ZJ 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: , Alberta
Posts: 6,452
Strange ? Not really . Lets assume this sensor is dirty , signal could get impaired intermittently/partially . If it sat it might pick up more and stop working .

What was the code ???

Just so we are clear

Trans speed sensor in the trans overdrive unit
dsc06191.jpg

speed sensor on the t-case
dsc06192.jpg
newfieZJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-26-2013, 06:10 PM   #5
worsrider4047
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: cedarburg, Wisconsin
Posts: 196
The code was for the output shaft sensor
worsrider4047 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-26-2013, 07:14 PM   #6
worsrider4047
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: cedarburg, Wisconsin
Posts: 196
I cleaned it and it now shifts, but still no speedo
worsrider4047 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-26-2013, 08:16 PM   #7
newfieZJ
Registered User
1995 ZJ 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: , Alberta
Posts: 6,452
Great , 1 down , one to go .

You tried a different speed sensor correct ? You may have it indexed incorrectly . 2 settings only so I would try to reclamp it in the other setting . Unclamp , turn the sensor , reclamp .
newfieZJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-26-2013, 08:24 PM   #8
worsrider4047
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: cedarburg, Wisconsin
Posts: 196
Ha I bet that's it, I'll try tomorrow after work and let you know the answer, thanks again for the help
worsrider4047 is offline   Reply With Quote




Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.