Switch GDU to VIC? - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > Switch GDU to VIC?

We have Engo 10k Synthetic IN STOCK!!! Hurry while supplieCustom Axle Work at CCORJEEP Gear Change Packages From ROCKRIDGE 4WD. We Are DIFF

Reply
Unread 02-25-2012, 07:04 PM   #1
SethGCherokee
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 20
Switch GDU to VIC?

I have a 98 ZJ I6 Selec-trac laredo, with the basic graphic screen that just says what 4wd mode your in by highlighting the wheels. I got a VIC to swap them out, figuring they are practically universal? When installing, it fit the opening and the screws were in the same place, and the wire went in too. But it won't light up or anything? Any suggestions?

SethGCherokee is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 02-25-2012, 07:24 PM   #2
RedRocket1994
Registered User
1994 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Wallingford, CT
Posts: 133
The VIC was paired up with a variety of modules throughout the vehicle. As an example, the lamp outage module found in VIC-equipped ZJs (rear left quarter panel) is not present on other ZJs. You also only have one door jamb switch per door, rather than the two-per-door required to show "door ajar" alerts on the VIC. Same goes for the coolant LEVEL and washer fluid level sensors. Unfortunately, based on the wiring diagrams, I would bet a few bucks on saying that you can't swap a VIC in to a vehicle that wasn't originally equipped with it.
--Will
__________________
1994 ZJ, 5.2L/46RH, NP242 & D44HD Swap, 4" SA Lift, 31" KM2s, and all the usual... I only lifted it so I wouldn't have to drive my grandma to church anymore... ;)

Remember: Every time you call a Jeep a "car", God kills a kitten.

[COLOR="Red"]Red Jeep Club #657[/COLOR]
RedRocket1994 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 02-25-2012, 08:07 PM   #3
SethGCherokee
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 20
I know my car doesn't have all those sensors but why would it still not power on? The person in this link did it in the pre-refreshed zj http://www.ewoutvb.com/projects/4-my...jeep?showall=1
SethGCherokee is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 02-25-2012, 09:52 PM   #4
MeanGreenZJ
Web Wheeler
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Mean Street in a desperate part of town
Posts: 1,710
Look here
http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f13/v...enter-1215246/
MeanGreenZJ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 02-25-2012, 11:17 PM   #5
theblackjack69
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: East Northport, NY
Posts: 162
I don't have one in my laredo either, but a family member has a limited, and he says the VIC is the biggest PITA ever. Why would you want it to begin with, the only reason I could see is to have a clock lol. Other than that I don't find them entirely useful. Hope you can find something to make it work though if it matters that much to you.
theblackjack69 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 02-26-2012, 12:24 AM   #6
MeanGreenZJ
Web Wheeler
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Mean Street in a desperate part of town
Posts: 1,710
I use it to keep track of oil changes.
MeanGreenZJ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Tags
computer , control panel , information

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.
Note: All free e-mails have been banned due to mis-use. (Yahoo, Gmail, Hotmail, etc.)
Don't have a non-free e-mail address? Click here for a solution: Manual Account Creation
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Thread Tools


Suggested Threads





Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.