Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

slipping auto trany

1K views 10 replies 6 participants last post by  subzero32 
#1 ·
A couple of days ago I changed my automatic tranny fluid on my 98 Grand Cherokee ( 4X4, 158,000 miles) along with the filter and new gasket. Now my tranny slips really bad from a start and other gears and does not get better till its been driven for a while. I put fully synthetic fluid in and the level is fine. Anyone have advice?

#4 ·
subzero32 said:
Cant remember the brand right now, but It was dexron 4 synthetic. Could to much lubrication be a bad thing? I really don't think it ever is personally.
although i'm not a tranny expert, i don't think you should of used that type of fluid. chyrsler transmissions are very picky about the fluid you use, and when you use the wrong one they start shifting weird/slipping/etc.. you can't go wrong with atf+3, thats the first recommendation on the list in every manual for zj's.

#5 ·
This sucks to hear, but dexron is the wrong type of fluid. I am not sure if it will make a difference or not though for slipping. I would try and swap out the fluid to atf 3 or 4.

If that does not work, a rebuild after 160K miles is not out of line.

How was your tranny before the fluid swap?

Also this may sound stupid, but I have to ask.

How did you check your fluid? Did you do it with the engine running and in neutal? If you did not, and you checked your fluid with your engine off, with the dipstick read full, you are actually low.

#6 ·
Guess I'll try and change it to ATF +3 here soon. I did check the fluid level when the engine was running and in neutral, but i'll check it again here today just to make sure I didn't miss something. this is off the subject but does anyone know a good solution for yellow headlights? Any tips would be appreciated. I'm off to autozone i guess now. Thanks.

#8 ·