Should I advance the timing? - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > Should I advance the timing?

JK specific skid plates from Clayton Off Road Mfg.RCV Heavy Duty Axle Shafts Now Shipping at Baseline4x4.comStainless Steel Door Hinge Pins

Reply
Unread 01-30-2014, 05:58 AM   #1
97lerado97
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: new york, ny
Posts: 28
Should I advance the timing?

I am having a stalling problem that's been going on for over a month now. It only happens when I come to a full stop a little faster then normal. The idle will also drop very low when I put it in any gear. There has never been a check engine light and many parts were replaced iac, fuel pump filter and regulator alternator and battery plugs wires vac lines..I'm at the point where I want to advance the timing to Give it more gas and see if this helps. Is this a good idea? Has anyone played with the distributor on these jeep. It's a 5.2

97lerado97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-30-2014, 07:06 AM   #2
McCloudsZJ
Because RaceJeep
 
McCloudsZJ's Avatar
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 2,140
The timing in a 97 "lerado" is controlled by the computer. The distributor only goes on one way and is not adjustable.
__________________
March 2014 GCOTM. 1998 Deep Slate 5.9
A few mods.
McCloudsZJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-30-2014, 07:18 AM   #3
Mickey_D
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: 40 3'42.36"N 112 2'16.73"W, Utah
Posts: 6,684
What you are describing points directly at the Idle Air Control. I know you already had it replaced, but I would investigate it further (wiring, PCM signal, grounds).
__________________
1997 ZJ 5.2 Orvis, Baby!
1953 Willys M100 trailer Tagalong
________________
[_][][][][][][][][_]


Mickey_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-30-2014, 07:38 AM   #4
97lerado97
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: new york, ny
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mickey_D View Post
What you are describing points directly at the Idle Air Control. I know you already had it replaced, but I would investigate it further (wiring, PCM signal, grounds).
Wouldn't the check engine light come on if it were any of these? I'm running out of ideas
97lerado97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-30-2014, 09:42 AM   #5
ZeeJay1997
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: right now I'm in, Texas
Posts: 5,716
the only way to get the distributor correctly aligned on a v-8 is with a scan tool. you can get it close by the tdc method, but you have to be able to see the relationship between the fuel and spark timing to get it nuts on.

did you clean the idle air chamber when you replaced the IAC?
ZeeJay1997 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-30-2014, 09:58 AM   #6
97lerado97
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: new york, ny
Posts: 28
Yes I cleaned the whole throttle body. This problem is bugging me out. I heard it could be the converter not releasing in time due to some solenoid but they also said if it was failing the check engine would of told me...
97lerado97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-30-2014, 09:59 AM   #7
97lerado97
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: new york, ny
Posts: 28
And the tranny fluid looks and smells fine.
97lerado97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-30-2014, 10:12 AM   #8
PolkaPower
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The Abyss, MD
Posts: 15,078
How about the cam sensor or crank sensor? Plenum gasket? Bad coil?
__________________
1998 5.9
Originally Posted by jabba974
"And yes, there is always a torque spec...but its not necessary...and takes way to much time...."
PolkaPower is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-30-2014, 10:39 AM   #9
97lerado97
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: new york, ny
Posts: 28
Cam or crank sensor should cause check engine light. The gasket would have had smoke come out when we tested it with the machine. How do you test the coil? I am getting 12 with the battery and alternator
97lerado97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-30-2014, 10:47 AM   #10
chetzar
Registered User
1994 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Bloomington, Illinois
Posts: 118
You keep saying it "should" cause a CEL, but it does not always cause a CEL. Plenty of people here have had the Cam/Crank sensor go back without a CEL. Also, you can check the status of your plenum gasket by opening the throttle body and looking for oil with a flashlight, if you see oil, its bad.
chetzar is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-30-2014, 10:50 AM   #11
dnuccio
Registered User
1995 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 3,474
Quote:
Originally Posted by chetzar View Post
You keep saying it "should" cause a CEL, but it does not always cause a CEL. Plenty of people here have had the Cam/Crank sensor go back without a CEL. Also, you can check the status of your plenum gasket by opening the throttle body and looking for oil with a flashlight, if you see oil, its bad.
my thoughts exactly. these jeeps are old and not very advanced. i wouldnt be surprised if you cut some wires and the CEL still didnt come on.
__________________
Reliability is relative
R.I.P. Ratmonkey
dnuccio is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-30-2014, 10:52 AM   #12
PolkaPower
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The Abyss, MD
Posts: 15,078
I'm just going to say this about the plenum gasket. If it hasn't ever been repaired, it's bad. There are no lucky exceptions to that. It was a factory flaw.
__________________
1998 5.9
Originally Posted by jabba974
"And yes, there is always a torque spec...but its not necessary...and takes way to much time...."
PolkaPower is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-30-2014, 10:55 AM   #13
97lerado97
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: new york, ny
Posts: 28
Thank you I just needed someone to say it lol. I will replace the gasket tonight...can I check those sensors with a scanner (ethos) or just check the volts
97lerado97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-30-2014, 01:18 PM   #14
PolkaPower
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The Abyss, MD
Posts: 15,078
You do know what the plenum gasket is right? Takes several hours do. Best to start in the morning on your day off.
__________________
1998 5.9
Originally Posted by jabba974
"And yes, there is always a torque spec...but its not necessary...and takes way to much time...."
PolkaPower is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-30-2014, 01:46 PM   #15
97lerado97
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: new york, ny
Posts: 28
Intake manifold gasket...yeah just ordered it should be in tomorrow.
97lerado97 is offline   Reply With Quote




Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.