Replacing "Power Trans Module" programming. - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > Replacing "Power Trans Module" programming.

RIGID LED Light Blowout Sale - All Sizes, All Series, all Truc-Lite LED Headlights! OCONEE OFF-ROAD 706-534-9955Jeep Wrangler Bushwacker Flat Fender Flare Sale at Baselin

Reply
Unread 07-17-2013, 05:07 AM   #1
jaktar
Registered User
1996  
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: bombala, NSW
Posts: 2
Replacing "Power Trans Module" programming.

Australian right drive ZJ Grand Cherokee has just had the "Power Trans Module"(PTM) (that's what the mechanics are calling it??) replaced and have been told it needs reprogramming. Jeepy disgraced herself by stopping in the middle of town!! Wouldn't start again. Diagnosed by auto electrician without the aid of a scanner to be dead PTM PTM replaced and now Jeepy is running again but remains in first gear (auto) I'm told this is Limp Home Mode and the PTM needs reprogramming. We don't have access to a scan tool to interogate/program this vintage. Can any body help with ideas please.

jaktar is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-17-2013, 05:27 AM   #2
exmilitary
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 58
You will have to take it to a dealer to have it reprogrammed unless you can get access to a drb 3 scan tool.
I dont know if someone on this knows if it can be done with a laptop computer and some special software.
exmilitary is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-19-2013, 07:50 PM   #3
jaktar
Registered User
1996  
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: bombala, NSW
Posts: 2
Thanks for the info. I have also queried our local (180mls away!) Jeep dealer and he said "Bring it in!" At least I now know which scan tool is required.
jaktar is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.
Note: All free e-mails have been banned due to mis-use. (Yahoo, Gmail, Hotmail, etc.)
Don't have a non-free e-mail address? Click here for a solution: Manual Account Creation
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Thread Tools






Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.