Replacing ac orifice - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > Replacing ac orifice

Rampage Bowless Soft Top Oconee offroadAlloy USA Still AvailableAdvance Adapters SYE Kits

Unread 06-03-2013, 07:56 AM   #1
sevenscrew
1997 ZJ 

Replacing ac orifice

How do I change my orifice filter thing? I'm a noob about the ac system, ill be having the freon vacuumed out before I remove any lines but where exactly is the filter? I believe u need to replace a whole line. Does the dash have to be removed..

in the works: lp30 + 8.8 build to 4.88s + wj swap
sevenscrew is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 06-03-2013, 08:14 AM   #2
dellis
1998 ZJ 

Just to be clear, you are not assuming that there is a cabin filter,right? (We don't have cabin filters on our AC system).

I assume, rather, that you are referring to the "accumulator/dryer" that is in-line with your AC system. The dryer part of this functions to remove moisture from the refrigerant, and a dryer is often replaced whenever an overhaul of the AC system is done. But if your AC is working and you are not facing replacement of the compressor, then there's no need to replace part as a regular part of maintenance.

I've not done it on my Jeep, but driers are typically soldered (perhaps welded) in place. If you have any experience with plumbing, it is the same technique as fitting copper tubing, but I use a stronger type of solder and MAPP gas rather than propane.
dellis is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 06-03-2013, 08:22 AM   #3
sevenscrew
1997 ZJ 

I am talking about the thin tube filter. My ac wouldn't take it's pressure. It would only take like 5-6kg and it's 8

So it's not that cold.