post #1 of Old 05-22-2013, 01:47 PM Thread Starter
Vortexium
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Hazleton
Posts: 36
Replaced output shaft speed sensor - still CEL & still not shifting!

My mechanic just replaced my outspeed shaft speed sensor because that's what the code read, and it's still doing the same exact thing... any ideas or suggestions? I have a 98 ZJ with the 42RE and 133k. 5.2l motor..

Vortexium is offline  
post #2 of Old 05-22-2013, 02:12 PM
jeepkid945
Registered User
1993 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 124
Reset computer?
jeepkid945 is offline  
post #3 of Old 05-23-2013, 12:33 AM
jabba974
Registered User
1996 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Ionia
Posts: 246
Have you looked at replacing the shift solinoids in the tranny? My 96 wouldnt down shift to first and would only start out in 2nd gear...Once in a while it would stick in first and would not up shift...Once replaced, it worked perfect..
jabba974 is offline  
post #4 of Old 05-23-2013, 06:33 AM
dusterdude
Registered User
1996 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: hopewell
Posts: 2,048
How long after is the lite still on,it may take a couple of days to turn off
dusterdude is offline  
post #5 of Old 05-23-2013, 03:13 PM Thread Starter
Vortexium
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Hazleton
Posts: 36
It's still doing the same thing after I replaced it. The tranny doesn't shift out of first, it takes like 10 seconds and I have to basically tac it to 3500
Vortexium is offline  
post #6 of Old 05-23-2013, 11:09 PM
jnicewan
Registered User
1995 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Norman
Posts: 2,340
There is a code related to the sensor, the sensor has been replaced. There is probably one of two things wrong with it. Either the wrong sensor was replaced or the part is bad or it was not a sensor problem to begin with and might be a wiring or PCM problem.

Keep in mind that there is a VSS sensor on the T/C and the output shaft speed sensor is on the trans-O/D housing. I am sure they know which and replaced the correct sensor.
jnicewan is offline  
post #7 of Old 05-29-2013, 08:36 AM Thread Starter
Vortexium
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Hazleton
Posts: 36
Bump, need some more info !!
Vortexium is offline  
post #8 of Old 05-30-2013, 04:50 AM
ZeeJay1997
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnicewan View Post
There is a code related to the sensor, the sensor has been replaced. There is probably one of two things wrong with it. Either the wrong sensor was replaced or the part is bad or it was not a sensor problem to begin with and might be a wiring or PCM problem.

Keep in mind that there is a VSS sensor on the T/C and the output shaft speed sensor is on the trans-O/D housing. I am sure they know which and replaced the correct sensor.

^^^
this
ZeeJay1997 is offline  
post #9 of Old 05-30-2013, 05:04 PM
coralman
USER OF PARTS CATALOGS
 
coralman's Avatar
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: florida
Posts: 6,953
Lol, you would go in the ignore room if you completed that bottom sentence. You had to know that going in.

Info on projects and repairs categorized by system
http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f13/c...-faqs-2863665/

Originally Posted by HighLonesome
lol...if life is as a simple as a 5.9 making you happy, I'd say go ahead and buy it on impulse. ZJs are the way of Zen. Wax on, wax off
coralman is online now  
post #10 of Old 05-30-2013, 05:44 PM
ZeeJay1997
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by coralman View Post
Lol, you would go in the ignore room if you completed that bottom sentence. You had to know that going in.
In typical RM fashion, that was the end of the conversation
ZeeJay1997 is offline  
post #11 of Old 05-31-2013, 08:52 AM
KingtheZJ
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 2,657
i assume it threw a code for vss and speedo wasnt working?

is the speedo working now?

reset code or reset computer.

'88 XJ
'98 ZJ on 37s and tons
'02 Chevy 2500HD 8.1
KingtheZJ is offline  
post #12 of Old 09-19-2013, 05:10 PM
Nolvck
Registered User
2010 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Dallas
Posts: 18
Did you find a fix? My zj is doing the same thing. Replace both output and vss. Still getting code and symptoms
Nolvck is offline  
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome