Rebuild Rear Differential? - Minneapolis, MN - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > Rebuild Rear Differential? - Minneapolis, MN

SPARTAN LOCKERS are on sale BIG TIME at ROCKRIDGE 4WD!Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineG2 Disc Brake Conversion Kit for Jeep Wrangler YJ TJ LJ Ch

Unread 06-18-2012, 07:48 AM   #1
niero
1997 ZJ 

Rebuild Rear Differential? - Minneapolis, MN

Hi,

I'm brand new to Jeeps. I just bought a used 1997 Grand Cherokee, 199,320 miles.
I'm finding out it needs a new rear differential. It has a grinding noise coming from the back when accelerating. The bearings have been replaced (not sure what that means). I'm not mechanically inclined at all.

Is there anyplace in Minneapolis, MN that you know and trust to rebuild a rear diff? The best estimate I've gotten is $1500. I've read online a lot of people get one from the junkyard and have a mechanic do it. I knew an older vehicle would need some work, and I wanted a Grand Cherokee. I don't mind spending some cash to get her runnin' right, but $1500 for one repair is out of my range.

Any advice would be most appreciated.

niero is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-18-2012, 08:20 AM   #2
ajmorell

Iron Rock might be willing to do it (I don't know if they do normal maintenance repairs like that or not), they aren't far away. I would call them up and ask.

http://www.ironrockoffroad.com/Merch...tore_Code=IROR
ajmorell is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-18-2012, 08:29 AM   #3
niero
1997 ZJ 

Thanks for the reply. I will give them a call.

Right now it's at the dealer, awaiting an estimate. So far I got $1000-$1200. Or if I supply one from the junkyard, $600+ in labor.