Rear Cargo Power Outlet - JeepForum.com

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 04-02-2009, 08:40 PM Thread Starter
SplitPoly
Registered User
2003 WJ 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston
Posts: 139
Rear Cargo Power Outlet

According to WJJeeps.com, most WJ's came from the factory with a rear power outlet or wiring for one.

My Jeep is the exception and didn't come with the outlet wiring.

I pulled back the panels today and saw that I had a wire for the taillights, but no outlet.

The pic on WJJeeps shows that the outlet wires come off of the taillight wires. Is there a way to splice into my current harness and make my own harness for the outlet?

Should I run a new wire from the front? Has anyone done this before?

Thanks for your help.

- Rick




To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

SplitPoly is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 04-03-2009, 12:34 AM
NEVADAGARY
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fernley, NV
Posts: 322
Can't tap off the tailight wires cuz you'd only have power when the taillights are on and you'll just blow the fuses anyway. I'd run a power cable from the battery or a power tap through a 20-30amp fuse to the place where you want power. You can screw a ground wire to the metal just about anywhere even under a body panel screw.

Gary D.
Old but having fun
Real Americans drive Real American!
NEVADAGARY is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 04-03-2009, 12:37 AM
rustynail
Registered User
1996 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Posts: 1,108
X2 on running a wire unless you only want it to be good for charging your ipod. You should be able to find sufficient power in your fuse box.

- Russ
5.9 ORVIS 33x12.5 MTR-Kevlar, 7" fr adj IR LA's, 7" rr adj RE SF SA's, adj JKS TB's, RE SB disc, RE Springs, JKS ACOS, 13" RS9000XL's, OME SS, NP231, Durango box, IR Sliders, IR Skid, 3" Flowmaster 70, K&N, Superwinch EPi9.0, Optima Yel, 2 air comp, Alpine, Garmin, Sunroof
rustynail is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 04-03-2009, 01:29 PM
Mickey_D
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: 40 3'42.36"N 112 2'16.73"W
Posts: 6,867
You're eventually going to want an amp for subs anyways, just run a decent gauge wire (4 gauge or lower) through a junction box from the battery. That way you also have a power connection if you ever need to run an inverter and the power is already run for said amplifier.

Yeah, here I am telling you this and I still need to do this myself. I've got a power wire running from the fuse panel for my amp, but no way to connect my inverter. I also have an extremely bad way of hooking into the fuse panel which is an abomination for an electronics technician like myself to have come up with. So much so that I won't even explain it here...

1997 ZJ 5.2 Orvis, Baby!
1953 Willys M100 trailer Tagalong
________________
[_][][][][][][][][_]



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
#4
Mickey_D is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 04-04-2009, 02:38 PM Thread Starter
SplitPoly
Registered User
2003 WJ 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston
Posts: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mickey_D View Post
You're eventually going to want an amp for subs anyways, just run a decent gauge wire (4 gauge or lower) through a junction box from the battery.
What's the best way to run this wire?

Are there already a few holes in the Fire Wall to allow me to run wires of this nature? How do all of the Civics get wires run? Are there "extra" spots on the internal fuse panel where I could plug my power wire in?

I've never run wires before...

- Rick



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

SplitPoly is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 04-04-2009, 02:51 PM
Mickey_D
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: 40 3'42.36"N 112 2'16.73"W
Posts: 6,867
I currently have my power wire just run under the rear seats and into the door trim and up to the power seats fuse. But in all reality the best way to run it would be to put the wire through a rubber grommet in the floor and use those plastic wire holder clips (better known as P clips) and mount them with 1/4" or 3/8" self tapping screws. Run it all the way up to the fuse panel under the hood and tap into a relay socket that's not in use for your particular ZJ. On mine it's the DRL socket that's not used, but has power to the socket. Or you could just run the power lead all the way up to the battery after running it through a fuse block.

1997 ZJ 5.2 Orvis, Baby!
1953 Willys M100 trailer Tagalong
________________
[_][][][][][][][][_]



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
#4
Mickey_D is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 04-04-2009, 03:41 PM Thread Starter
SplitPoly
Registered User
2003 WJ 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston
Posts: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mickey_D View Post
Or you could just run the power lead all the way up to the battery after running it through a fuse block.
I found a fuse block. It came with 2 fuses... 30A and 80A. Which one would work for a 750watt Power Inverter?

- Rick



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

SplitPoly is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 04-04-2009, 04:23 PM
WiLieR
Registered User
1999 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Madison
Posts: 299
80 amp would be best of the two. 750 watts / 12 volts = 62.5 amps.

99 WJ Laredo - Mine once again!
WiLieR is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 04-04-2009, 06:49 PM
Mickey_D
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: 40 3'42.36"N 112 2'16.73"W
Posts: 6,867
My educated friend above has it correct.

62.5 Amps + 10% for surge capacity = 68.7Amps. Which would be pushing a 70Amp fuse. And to allow for an extra small power outlet for charging a cell phone or running a laptop, the 80 amp would be ideal. But where you tap the power outlet into the power wire, I would run another distribution block and put a 10-15Amp fuse inline there as well.

1997 ZJ 5.2 Orvis, Baby!
1953 Willys M100 trailer Tagalong
________________
[_][][][][][][][][_]



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
#4
Mickey_D is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 04-12-2009, 11:56 PM Thread Starter
SplitPoly
Registered User
2003 WJ 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston
Posts: 139
I decided to forgo the power outlet and am mounting a 750 watt power inverter in the back of the Jeep in the changer location.

I made use of the cd changer mounting holes and made my own mounting studs.

4 x 4" threaded rods @ 5/16 (cut from 3ft threaded section with hacksaw)
washers, nuts, and lock washers
1/2" or 13mm wrench



The cable is 4ga wire from a pair of jumper cables. I want to run a positive and negative connection to and from the battery. I could ground the unit on the frame, but I'd feel better if it had a direct connection to the battery. I ran it behind the front fender, through the front passenger door, and down the harness track all the way to the back. It's a perfect fit.

I wish the cable had a black side. I haven't connected anything to the battery yet, but I've already cut the spring clamps off and forgot to mark which was neg and pos.

Tomorrow, I'll use cardboard to mock up my platform. I've got a section of 2 x 10 that should do nicely. Hope to get everything put back together by tomorrow night.

I'll use my dremel tool to trim down the posts once I get everything where I want it.

- Rick



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

SplitPoly is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 04-13-2009, 11:11 AM
Mickey_D
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: 40 3'42.36"N 112 2'16.73"W
Posts: 6,867
Dremels are wonderful things, aren't they?

1997 ZJ 5.2 Orvis, Baby!
1953 Willys M100 trailer Tagalong
________________
[_][][][][][][][][_]



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
#4
Mickey_D is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 04-14-2009, 02:13 AM
mav383
Registered User
2009 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Colonial Heights, VA
Posts: 55
works

this works great, just put an extra plug back there the other day it was right where you said to find it. Took 5 min to install. So now the question is what do i plug in back there?

It'll Buff Out!!
mav383 is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 04-14-2009, 06:34 PM
thecool1
Registered User
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sierra Vista
Posts: 77
Air pump, spot light, blender?

1991 Comanche HO (Parents sold while Deployed)
2000 Grand Cherokee Stock- Rest In Pieces (Swallowed by Montana pothole)
2004 Grand Cherokee Laredo

You always miss those NorEasters, especially when you haven't had snow in years.
thecool1 is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 04-15-2009, 12:31 AM Thread Starter
SplitPoly
Registered User
2003 WJ 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston
Posts: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by mav383 View Post
put an extra plug back there the other day it was right where you said to find it.
You had the wiring harness for a plug? Lucky...

I cut my board and fit it into place. I've painted it flat black and am waiting for it to dry overnight. I'll hit it up with some paint in the morning and try to install everything on Wed night or Thur morning.

I'm hoping the trailer harness is there. I just installed a hitch and need to run my light wires...

- Rick



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

SplitPoly is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 05-07-2009, 06:36 PM Thread Starter
SplitPoly
Registered User
2003 WJ 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston
Posts: 139
I finished my inverter install.

First, I installed 5/16" posts into the changer mounting holes.




I ran a 4ga jumper cable from the battery to the rear of the vehicle. My fuse block is installed under the hood.

I cut a piece of 2 x 10 to fit the spot and mounted it onto the posts.

And... done.




I installed small L brackets on the 2 x 10 for the inverter to "sit" on.

It's easily removable and the smaller wires/clamps are the stock connections that came with the inverter.

Looking for my next project...

- Rick



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

SplitPoly is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Jeep Forums Replies Last Post
Wiring for Rear 12v Power Outlet... jeepgaffer WK Grand Cherokee & XK Commander Forum 11 07-12-2016 05:54 PM
ZJ power outlet to rear seats 93GrandZJ ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum 9 12-03-2007 07:30 PM
Rear Power Outlet PODWIN ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum 3 04-25-2007 04:06 AM
Rear Power Outlet mrese ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum 0 07-05-2006 10:01 PM
04 GC Rear Power Outlet DellMan WJ Grand Cherokee Forum 0 04-05-2004 09:39 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome