Rear Cargo Power Outlet - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > Rear Cargo Power Outlet

All Bilstein shocks & struts - Lowest Prices Ever and Santa Kolak Announces: Kolak Exhaust 20% Off Sale!Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Reply
Unread 04-02-2009, 08:40 PM   #1
SplitPoly
Registered User
2003 WJ 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, Massachusetts
Posts: 139
Rear Cargo Power Outlet

According to WJJeeps.com, most WJ's came from the factory with a rear power outlet or wiring for one.

My Jeep is the exception and didn't come with the outlet wiring.

I pulled back the panels today and saw that I had a wire for the taillights, but no outlet.

The pic on WJJeeps shows that the outlet wires come off of the taillight wires. Is there a way to splice into my current harness and make my own harness for the outlet?

Should I run a new wire from the front? Has anyone done this before?

Thanks for your help.

- Rick

__________________
SplitPoly is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 04-03-2009, 12:34 AM   #2
NEVADAGARY
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fernley, NV
Posts: 322
Can't tap off the tailight wires cuz you'd only have power when the taillights are on and you'll just blow the fuses anyway. I'd run a power cable from the battery or a power tap through a 20-30amp fuse to the place where you want power. You can screw a ground wire to the metal just about anywhere even under a body panel screw.
__________________
Gary D.
Old but having fun
Real Americans drive Real American!
NEVADAGARY is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 04-03-2009, 12:37 AM   #3
rustynail
Registered User
1996 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia, British Columbia
Posts: 1,108
X2 on running a wire unless you only want it to be good for charging your ipod. You should be able to find sufficient power in your fuse box.
__________________
- Russ
5.9 ORVIS 33x12.5 MTR-Kevlar, 7" fr adj IR LA's, 7" rr adj RE SF SA's, adj JKS TB's, RE SB disc, RE Springs, JKS ACOS, 13" RS9000XL's, OME SS, NP231, Durango box, IR Sliders, IR Skid, 3" Flowmaster 70, K&N, Superwinch EPi9.0, Optima Yel, 2 air comp, Alpine, Garmin, Sunroof
rustynail is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 04-03-2009, 01:29 PM   #4
Mickey_D
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: 40° 3'42.36"N 112° 2'16.73"W, Utah
Posts: 6,829
You're eventually going to want an amp for subs anyways, just run a decent gauge wire (4 gauge or lower) through a junction box from the battery. That way you also have a power connection if you ever need to run an inverter and the power is already run for said amplifier.

Yeah, here I am telling you this and I still need to do this myself. I've got a power wire running from the fuse panel for my amp, but no way to connect my inverter. I also have an extremely bad way of hooking into the fuse panel which is an abomination for an electronics technician like myself to have come up with. So much so that I won't even explain it here...
__________________
1997 ZJ 5.2 Orvis, Baby!
1953 Willys M100 trailer Tagalong
________________
[_][][][][][][][][_]


Mickey_D is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 04-04-2009, 02:38 PM   #5
SplitPoly
Registered User
2003 WJ 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, Massachusetts
Posts: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mickey_D View Post
You're eventually going to want an amp for subs anyways, just run a decent gauge wire (4 gauge or lower) through a junction box from the battery.
What's the best way to run this wire?

Are there already a few holes in the Fire Wall to allow me to run wires of this nature? How do all of the Civics get wires run? Are there "extra" spots on the internal fuse panel where I could plug my power wire in?

I've never run wires before...

- Rick
__________________
SplitPoly is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 04-04-2009, 02:51 PM   #6
Mickey_D
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: 40° 3'42.36"N 112° 2'16.73"W, Utah
Posts: 6,829
I currently have my power wire just run under the rear seats and into the door trim and up to the power seats fuse. But in all reality the best way to run it would be to put the wire through a rubber grommet in the floor and use those plastic wire holder clips (better known as P clips) and mount them with 1/4" or 3/8" self tapping screws. Run it all the way up to the fuse panel under the hood and tap into a relay socket that's not in use for your particular ZJ. On mine it's the DRL socket that's not used, but has power to the socket. Or you could just run the power lead all the way up to the battery after running it through a fuse block.
__________________
1997 ZJ 5.2 Orvis, Baby!
1953 Willys M100 trailer Tagalong
________________
[_][][][][][][][][_]


Mickey_D is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 04-04-2009, 03:41 PM   #7
SplitPoly
Registered User
2003 WJ 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, Massachusetts
Posts: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mickey_D View Post
Or you could just run the power lead all the way up to the battery after running it through a fuse block.
I found a fuse block. It came with 2 fuses... 30A and 80A. Which one would work for a 750watt Power Inverter?

- Rick
__________________
SplitPoly is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 04-04-2009, 04:23 PM   #8
WiLieR
Registered User
1999 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Madison, MS
Posts: 294
80 amp would be best of the two. 750 watts / 12 volts = 62.5 amps.
__________________
99 WJ Laredo - Mine once again!
WiLieR is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 04-04-2009, 06:49 PM   #9
Mickey_D
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: 40° 3'42.36"N 112° 2'16.73"W, Utah
Posts: 6,829
My educated friend above has it correct.

62.5 Amps + 10% for surge capacity = 68.7Amps. Which would be pushing a 70Amp fuse. And to allow for an extra small power outlet for charging a cell phone or running a laptop, the 80 amp would be ideal. But where you tap the power outlet into the power wire, I would run another distribution block and put a 10-15Amp fuse inline there as well.
__________________
1997 ZJ 5.2 Orvis, Baby!
1953 Willys M100 trailer Tagalong
________________
[_][][][][][][][][_]


Mickey_D is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 04-12-2009, 11:56 PM   #10
SplitPoly
Registered User
2003 WJ 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, Massachusetts
Posts: 139
I decided to forgo the power outlet and am mounting a 750 watt power inverter in the back of the Jeep in the changer location.

I made use of the cd changer mounting holes and made my own mounting studs.

4 x 4" threaded rods @ 5/16 (cut from 3ft threaded section with hacksaw)
washers, nuts, and lock washers
1/2" or 13mm wrench



The cable is 4ga wire from a pair of jumper cables. I want to run a positive and negative connection to and from the battery. I could ground the unit on the frame, but I'd feel better if it had a direct connection to the battery. I ran it behind the front fender, through the front passenger door, and down the harness track all the way to the back. It's a perfect fit.

I wish the cable had a black side. I haven't connected anything to the battery yet, but I've already cut the spring clamps off and forgot to mark which was neg and pos.

Tomorrow, I'll use cardboard to mock up my platform. I've got a section of 2 x 10 that should do nicely. Hope to get everything put back together by tomorrow night.

I'll use my dremel tool to trim down the posts once I get everything where I want it.

- Rick
__________________
SplitPoly is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 04-13-2009, 11:11 AM   #11
Mickey_D
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: 40° 3'42.36"N 112° 2'16.73"W, Utah
Posts: 6,829
Dremels are wonderful things, aren't they?
__________________
1997 ZJ 5.2 Orvis, Baby!
1953 Willys M100 trailer Tagalong
________________
[_][][][][][][][][_]


Mickey_D is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 04-14-2009, 02:13 AM   #12
mav383
Registered User
2009 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Colonial Heights, VA
Posts: 52
works

this works great, just put an extra plug back there the other day it was right where you said to find it. Took 5 min to install. So now the question is what do i plug in back there?
__________________
It'll Buff Out!!
mav383 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 04-14-2009, 06:34 PM   #13
thecool1
Registered User
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Frederickson, WA, Washington
Posts: 77
Air pump, spot light, blender?
__________________
1991 Comanche HO (Parents sold while Deployed)
2000 Grand Cherokee Stock- Rest In Pieces (Swallowed by Montana pothole)
2004 Grand Cherokee Laredo

You always miss those NorEasters, especially when you haven't had snow in years.
thecool1 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 04-15-2009, 12:31 AM   #14
SplitPoly
Registered User
2003 WJ 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, Massachusetts
Posts: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by mav383 View Post
put an extra plug back there the other day it was right where you said to find it.
You had the wiring harness for a plug? Lucky...

I cut my board and fit it into place. I've painted it flat black and am waiting for it to dry overnight. I'll hit it up with some paint in the morning and try to install everything on Wed night or Thur morning.

I'm hoping the trailer harness is there. I just installed a hitch and need to run my light wires...

- Rick
__________________
SplitPoly is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 05-07-2009, 06:36 PM   #15
SplitPoly
Registered User
2003 WJ 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, Massachusetts
Posts: 139
I finished my inverter install.

First, I installed 5/16" posts into the changer mounting holes.




I ran a 4ga jumper cable from the battery to the rear of the vehicle. My fuse block is installed under the hood.

I cut a piece of 2 x 10 to fit the spot and mounted it onto the posts.

And... done.




I installed small L brackets on the 2 x 10 for the inverter to "sit" on.

It's easily removable and the smaller wires/clamps are the stock connections that came with the inverter.

Looking for my next project...

- Rick
__________________
SplitPoly is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.
Note: All free e-mails have been banned due to mis-use. (Yahoo, Gmail, Hotmail, etc.)
Don't have a non-free e-mail address? Click here for a solution: Manual Account Creation
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Thread Tools


Suggested Threads





Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.