Preparations for a long drive in a ZJ - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > Preparations for a long drive in a ZJ

FS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye KitTHE NEW! VANCO DUAL MODE 15/16″ Big Brake Kit w/BlaFS: Wranger BRIGHT License Plate LED! Just $3! Great value

Unread 07-08-2013, 11:46 AM   #1
fish_jeep
1997 ZJ 

Preparations for a long drive in a ZJ

Hey all,

Jeep newbie here. I am looking for some recommended repairs and maintenance to look for before I make a big move/drive across country in my ZJ.

I have a 1997 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo (4.0L original engine, automatic transmission, 252,000k miles, 4x4). I am preparing to move from Florida to Alberta, CA, estimated total distance is 2,800+ miles. The Jeep is old with a lot of personality (and maybe problems?) and I purchased it in December 2012. I've put in about $1,500 in repairs (most of it to fix problems I inherited) on it including a used PCM, new CPS, new radiator, new ignition coil, new thermostat, new struts. Gas mileage is around 18-20 mpg despite some problems with the exhaust system.

Given the history of the '97 ZJ's problems with electronics (e.g., CPS, PCM, computers, and the exhaust system) I am wondering if you all recommend particular maintenance/repairs/new parts before I make this big move from the US to Canada.

The car's recent history is:

stalling/dying while engaged which was fixed by addressing problems with the exhaust system, cat converter, and O2 sensors (O2 sensors were sending a false rich or lean signal to the PCM and messing with the signal to the engine). Haven't had an issue with this in 4,000+ miles.