Power Steering Hose - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > Power Steering Hose

Smittybilt Products at Oconee Off-Road!Alloy USA Still AvailableCurrie Currectlync Steering Upgrade Kits and Currie Anti-R

Reply
Unread 01-24-2009, 08:43 AM   #1
thegoat78
Registered User
2002 WJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 51
Power Steering Hose

Hey Guys,
I have a 02 Overland. i Was told that if i change the power steering hose that i have to hook it up to a scanner for some reason. Could anybody tell me why ?
'Thanks Bill

__________________
2002 Overland,4.7 She's a HO(e) Black
thegoat78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-24-2009, 08:48 AM   #2
DothanJeep
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dothan,AL(Born & Raised in Nazareth,PA)
Posts: 2,030
I didn't have to with my 4.0L might be different on the 4.7?
__________________
00' WJ 4'' IRO 285 Tire...Ect-SOLD 7/2/2009
98' ZJ STORM TROOPIN' SOLD
97' ZJ with 117K THE DD mi SOLD
01'WJ Project Cheap fix.
DothanJeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-24-2009, 10:37 AM   #3
311LJ
311Popo
 
311LJ's Avatar
2004 LJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Springville, Utah
Posts: 7,430
like on OBDII scanner? I replaced my lines on my 4.7 (it was a PITA tightening the end into the pump by the reservoir) and i didn't have to plug in any scanner.. you jeep computer wont know the hose is off. just replace it and top off your fluid..
__________________
John
04 TJ Unlimited, GenRight Armor, 37's Unlimited Build Thread
89 XJ Laredo, 31's
07 WK Overland, Hemi, Chrome bug deflector
[SOLD] Jimmer 01 WJ *2009 GCOTY* WJ Build Thread
*UTAH JEEPCREW #01*

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tuffjeeper View Post
I ♡ John
311LJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-24-2009, 01:36 PM   #4
elmer_fud
Registered User
1995 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: colorado
Posts: 2,457
Quote:
Originally Posted by 311WJ View Post
like on OBDII scanner? I replaced my lines on my 4.7 (it was a PITA tightening the end into the pump by the reservoir) and i didn't have to plug in any scanner.. you jeep computer wont know the hose is off. just replace it and top off your fluid..
that is what I was thinking. There is a sensor or anything in the hose. I am not ever sure there is a sensor anywhere in the power steering system
__________________
Brian
95 ZJ, 5.2 V8,160,000 miles
Colorado Jeep Club member Pi
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedycat View Post
I am not one to be changing lanes at 70 mph on a lifted truck on 33's, but since I am in Miami, I have to be prepared for the continuous influx of new drivers whose previous ride was a bicycle with wooden wheels.
Quote:
Originally Posted by FPKites View Post
badger, badger, badger, badger, badger, badger, badger, badger, badger, badger, badger, Mushroom!!! :D
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZeeJay1997 View Post
Or just tie a 12 lb fish to a one foot pipe.
elmer_fud is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-24-2009, 03:57 PM   #5
Turbonut
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,828
No problems, just replace the hose with the updatd 2 piece hose. Install fitting into PS pump but don't tighten down, install sleeve into fan motor and then slide the metal tube into the sleeve. Tighen both and don't forget to bleed the system.
Turbonut is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Suggested Threads





Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.