Please Help!!! I need a 46rh rebuilt - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > Please Help!!! I need a 46rh rebuilt

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineRubicon Express Suspensions from CCOR 706-207-4140Smittybilt Hard Tops @ Oconee Off-Road! 706-534-9955

Unread 02-16-2013, 06:31 PM   #1
bearfighter13
1993 ZJ 

Please Help!!! I need a 46rh rebuilt

Hi everyone I'm a newbie here. I drove home and my car pooped out. It starts up great and idles like honey. When it get put into gear, it lurched into that position and stalls. The local trans shop quoted me $2650 for a full rebuild.

My Jeep is a 1993 Grand Wagoneer ZJ with a 5.2L and 4 speed automatic 46rh transmission.

Is there anyone near the DC metro area I can buy one form. Or, I'm willing to pay whoever would be willing to help me replace rebuild it. I am a college student and money is crazy tight.

Thank you in advance for any help.

bearfighter13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-16-2013, 07:33 PM   #2
TheRealOldjeep
1994 YJ Wrangler 

Buy yourself an ATSG manual, master rebuild kit and a new torque convertor. Automatics are pretty simple to rebuild if you take your time and deal with one assembly at a time.

The way I prefer to do them is to pull the assemblies out and stack them up on the table (hole drilled in the table for the input shaft to pass through)

Then clean up the case and rebuild one section at a time installing it back in the case as you complete it.

Don't know why so many folks are scared of automatics, I think manuals are a bigger pain to rebuild.
97 TJ 2.5L/30RH - daughters car

www.oldjeep.com My site
TheRealOldjeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-16-2013, 07:47 PM   #3
ZJandI
1997 ZJ