Okay - The Issues on my "New" ZJ - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > Okay - The Issues on my "New" ZJ

FS: Wranger BRIGHT License Plate LED! Just $3! Great valueBlack Friday SALE! Up to 20% off at Diode Dynamics!Metalcloak's Black Friday & Small Business Saturday Sa

Unread 08-08-2012, 01:56 PM   #1
PAFirefighter11
Quadratec Live Chat Rep

1998 ZJ 

Okay - The Issues on my "New" ZJ

So this was my last ZJ:

I just picked up a new one last night for $1000. It's a '96 ZJ Limited, 4.0L, auto, NP249 (blah), 99,990 miles, leather, new tires, etc:

I'm not a mechanic, though do 90% of the work on my Jeeps myself, and/or with the help of friends who are mechanics. There are a few mechanical issues which I am not worried about and will fix quickly. A few others I have questions about. The questions are...

-The oil pressure when I started the Jeep last night was at 0. Check gauges light came on. I checked the oil. Level is fine, oil color is great. After physically hitting the gas/driving, the pressure went up to normal operating range. Each time I would let off the gas/stop, the gauge would drop back to 0. I'm assuming this is just the sending unit going bad as they tend to do on a lot of 4.0L applications?

-The steering SUCKS. It's very loose and tracks where it wants, which has to be corrected very often while driving. It's like driving my Trans Am's with large front tires, but it's not "tight" steering. Fairly unresponsive - absolutely nothing like my last ZJ. My assumptions are the steering gear box, hubs, or an alignment. Is that correct?

Any help is much appreciated.

-The statements in this message do not necessarily reflect the opinions of Quadratec, Inc.