Odometer rollin' itself back?? - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > Odometer rollin' itself back??

USA Made JK Rear Axles!!! Revolution Gear and AxleFS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye KitThe ALL NEW Factor 55 ProLink Winch Shackle Mounts availab

Reply
Unread 09-21-2013, 03:51 PM   #1
MyZJ98
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Ellington, Connecticut
Posts: 1,007
Odometer rollin' itself back??

Hey guys, got a very weird issue, adding itself to my list of others at this point. Recently, I've noticed my regular digital Odometer, not the Trip-Odom, is not clicking past 109,600 miles. At 109,599, it resets itself back to 109,300. Every 300 miles, it just keeps rolling itself back to the same 109,300 miles. I've been hand-tracking myself since to maintain a record, and dated/logged when it began, but I really don't want a TMU issue on my hands if I ever decide to sell this Jeep (which is a thought that crosses my mind off and on every day, that old love/hate feeling...).

Anyone have ANY CLUE what could be causing this? I REALLY don't want to have to buy another odometer, and lose track of my true mileage. If anyone has any ideas or suggestions, please let me know!! Thanks


P.S.- There are no other related symptoms when this happens, it just happens religiously after 109,599 miles, without fail, and has happened easily 4-5 times now.

__________________
Derek

'98 ZJ Laredo, 4.0L, 140K, NP242, stock. (Sold @205k)
'99 WJ Laredo, 4.7L, 175K, NP249, stock. (Sold @240k)
'97 ZJ Limited, 4.0L, 109K, NP249, stock.(Current)
MyZJ98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-21-2013, 04:31 PM   #2
xcaliber81
Registered User
1994 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Prince George, B.C
Posts: 2,743
Your probably gonna have to replace the cluster.
__________________
Im indian my elders name is Jeep Grand Cherokee, I mean Chief Grand Cherokee. Quoted from Peter Griffin.
xcaliber81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-21-2013, 04:40 PM   #3
MyZJ98
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Ellington, Connecticut
Posts: 1,007
Ugh, that's what I'm worried about. This sucks...
__________________
Derek

'98 ZJ Laredo, 4.0L, 140K, NP242, stock. (Sold @205k)
'99 WJ Laredo, 4.7L, 175K, NP249, stock. (Sold @240k)
'97 ZJ Limited, 4.0L, 109K, NP249, stock.(Current)
MyZJ98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-21-2013, 04:44 PM   #4
xcaliber81
Registered User
1994 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Prince George, B.C
Posts: 2,743
Just keep an eye for one close to yours.
__________________
Im indian my elders name is Jeep Grand Cherokee, I mean Chief Grand Cherokee. Quoted from Peter Griffin.
xcaliber81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-21-2013, 04:53 PM   #5
newfieZJ
Registered User
1995 ZJ 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: , Alberta
Posts: 6,400
I would think a BCM issue . It stores the mileage , send the signal to the cluster . I don't think the cluster would be capable of doing this .

I wish my 2011 Ram had this issue . My bumper to bumper is almost expired
newfieZJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-21-2013, 04:54 PM   #6
MyZJ98
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Ellington, Connecticut
Posts: 1,007
True, I just wish I could have maintained exact mileage. It's gonna suck down the road when I gotta explain that an sell it as a TMU.
__________________
Derek

'98 ZJ Laredo, 4.0L, 140K, NP242, stock. (Sold @205k)
'99 WJ Laredo, 4.7L, 175K, NP249, stock. (Sold @240k)
'97 ZJ Limited, 4.0L, 109K, NP249, stock.(Current)
MyZJ98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-21-2013, 04:59 PM   #7
MyZJ98
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Ellington, Connecticut
Posts: 1,007
Quote:
Originally Posted by newfieZJ View Post
I would think a BCM issue . It stores the mileage , send the signal to the cluster . I don't think the cluster would be capable of doing this .

I wish my 2011 Ram had this issue . My bumper to bumper is almost expired
What's weird about you mentioning that is that the PO has had the BCM replaced 2 times by a shop with receipts in it's short life, so I can understand how the BCM could possibly be bad.

Where is the BCM located? And would a USED BCM cause an issue, like showing the mileage from the vehicle it came from? For example, if say a mechanic pulled a BCM off a vehicle with 120k, and this one has 109K in reality, when the new BCM is installed, would the Jeep then read as having 120K? If so, I wonder if maybe that happened when the shop replaced her old BCM; snagged a used one, but charged her for a new one, and thus, these issues arise. (Receipts state BCM replacement costs over $600 for parts, alone...)

Thanks for the info
__________________
Derek

'98 ZJ Laredo, 4.0L, 140K, NP242, stock. (Sold @205k)
'99 WJ Laredo, 4.7L, 175K, NP249, stock. (Sold @240k)
'97 ZJ Limited, 4.0L, 109K, NP249, stock.(Current)
MyZJ98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-21-2013, 05:04 PM   #8
newfieZJ
Registered User
1995 ZJ 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: , Alberta
Posts: 6,400
What ever mileage was on the jeep it came from is what you would end up with . You can take it to the dealer , perhaps show them your odometer one day , install the BCM and return to get the proper mileage programmed into the BCM . This may still get a TMU rating

BCM is located under the cluster to the left , next to the reinforcement for the dash . Remove panel below steering column , back off 4 screws , slide it right to access 3 plug ins , one bottom , 2 on back , slide it out from there .
newfieZJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-21-2013, 05:19 PM   #9
MyZJ98
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Ellington, Connecticut
Posts: 1,007
I guess if I can find one close enough in mileage, I'll just deal with it. I guess I'll start shopping for a BCM with low mileage now, yay...

And thanks for the location/instructions too btw
__________________
Derek

'98 ZJ Laredo, 4.0L, 140K, NP242, stock. (Sold @205k)
'99 WJ Laredo, 4.7L, 175K, NP249, stock. (Sold @240k)
'97 ZJ Limited, 4.0L, 109K, NP249, stock.(Current)
MyZJ98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-22-2013, 07:24 AM   #10
Snowfan2
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North of Amarillo, Tx
Posts: 508
Nothing is wrong. It's groundhog day.
Snowfan2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-22-2013, 08:02 AM   #11
newfieZJ
Registered User
1995 ZJ 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: , Alberta
Posts: 6,400
Because I could , and doesn't take only but 10 minutes , I swapped the BCMs to confirm . As said , mileage changes from one to the other . I did note my BCM was also changed before and has a sticker showing the date , the vin , and mileage it was programmed to . Nothing was showing on the carfax when I searched after buying the jeep .

# plug ins , easy one on the bottom , 2 on the back are tight . When pulling the panel , there are 4 clips also holding it on , 1 on the left , 2 across the top left , one down the side by the VIC , screw driver to pry out is nice but they can be just pulled out unless stuck . Over-all , you just need a fillips screwdriver and I would rate this on the difficulty level , 1 outta 10 .
newfieZJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-22-2013, 04:08 PM   #12
Lustra
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 69
Keep in mind the dealer can't change the mileage on a used BCM. New one might cost far more then most people are willing to spend, if a new one is still available at the dealer.

_______________________________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by newfieZJ
We may have gotten off to a bad start , but , you are one ignorant SOB
Yes , the mileage is stored in the PCM , it's only available through a DRB scan, it is irrelevant to 99% of jeepers
What about the other 1%?

________________________________

Silly Hillbilly
Lustra is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-22-2013, 06:48 PM   #13
MyZJ98
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Ellington, Connecticut
Posts: 1,007
Thanks for all the input guys, I guess I'll look for a similar mileage bcm from a jy zj and just swap it in and hope that cures it. My zj has a factory alarm, does the donor bcm have to be from a zj with factory alarm also for it to work correctly?

Thanks
__________________
Derek

'98 ZJ Laredo, 4.0L, 140K, NP242, stock. (Sold @205k)
'99 WJ Laredo, 4.7L, 175K, NP249, stock. (Sold @240k)
'97 ZJ Limited, 4.0L, 109K, NP249, stock.(Current)
MyZJ98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-22-2013, 07:09 PM   #14
xcaliber81
Registered User
1994 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Prince George, B.C
Posts: 2,743
Could be wrong but I thing the bcm's were pretty much the same its the pcm that make's the difference Im sure someone will correct me of im wrong though.
__________________
Im indian my elders name is Jeep Grand Cherokee, I mean Chief Grand Cherokee. Quoted from Peter Griffin.
xcaliber81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-22-2013, 08:21 PM   #15
Lustra
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 69
If you get a BCM from a ZJ without alarm, your alarm will not work until the alarm function is enabled. This can be done by a factory scan tool or by locking and unlocking the driver's door with key a few times. You need BCM out of 97-98 engine size does not matter.

_______________________________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by newfieZJ
We may have gotten off to a bad start , but , you are one ignorant SOB
Yes , the mileage is stored in the PCM , it's only available through a DRB scan, it is irrelevant to 99% of jeepers
What about the other 1%?

________________________________

Silly Hillbilly
Lustra is offline   Reply With Quote




Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.