no sound coming from speakers - Page 2 - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > no sound coming from speakers

Smittybilt Hard Tops @ Oconee Off-Road! 706-534-9955XHD Heavy-Duty Hood Latches for JK and TJ available at OcoFS: Jeep Fog Light LED Bulbs! Several Brightness Options!

Reply
Unread 03-21-2013, 11:42 AM   #16
Scopez
Registered User
1994 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Aiken, SC
Posts: 1,713
Quote:
Originally Posted by exador View Post

Thats sweet.
Can you tell the difference from driver seat?
I imagine it makes a big difference for anyone riding in back but I usually don't have many passengers at once.
I do notice a sound increase, not alot though. Back seat is amazing with those speakers. Sounds like you're in the front.

Whenever I go to events and I have the hatch open, its pretty nice having crystal clear music.

__________________
94 ZJ Laredo. 5.2 Crate engine. 6in JKS SA Lift. 33in Destination MTs. ARB Front Bumper.
Scopez is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-21-2013, 12:08 PM   #17
exador
Registered User
1970 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Ada, Oklahoma
Posts: 66
Definitely marking this down on the ever increasing/never ending to do list
exador is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-21-2013, 04:16 PM   #18
Scopez
Registered User
1994 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Aiken, SC
Posts: 1,713
Quote:
Originally Posted by exador View Post
Definitely marking this down on the ever increasing/never ending to do list
Haha go for it man! Just be careful, there is a metal brace in the rear hatch, I had to cut/tape some of it so the magnet on the speaker wouldn't ground out on it.
__________________
94 ZJ Laredo. 5.2 Crate engine. 6in JKS SA Lift. 33in Destination MTs. ARB Front Bumper.
Scopez is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-21-2013, 04:35 PM   #19
xrunndonex
Registered User
1994 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: coffeyville, Kansas
Posts: 1,678
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scopez View Post

Haha go for it man! Just be careful, there is a metal brace in the rear hatch, I had to cut/tape some of it so the magnet on the speaker wouldn't ground out on it.
Also when you take the hatch panel off there's two screws I think its 2 that's in the fabric
xrunndonex is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-21-2013, 05:18 PM   #20
vforce1
Registered User
1995 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: paramus, nj
Posts: 53
um ok so i rewired them to the exact points and both speakers go out when i plug the second one in, i have a JVC head unit and i think its not strong enough to power 2 sony exploits , i even tried to hook up both speakers to the left known working side and still same result
vforce1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-21-2013, 05:35 PM   #21
xrunndonex
Registered User
1994 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: coffeyville, Kansas
Posts: 1,678
Quote:
Originally Posted by vforce1 View Post
um ok so i rewired them to the exact points and both speakers go out when i plug the second one in, i have a JVC head unit and i think its not strong enough to power 2 sony exploits , i even tried to hook up both speakers to the left known working side and still same result
Don't take much to power them
xrunndonex is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-21-2013, 05:45 PM   #22
vforce1
Registered User
1995 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: paramus, nj
Posts: 53
then im not sure as to why its doing this..
vforce1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-21-2013, 05:49 PM   #23
xrunndonex
Registered User
1994 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: coffeyville, Kansas
Posts: 1,678
Quote:
Originally Posted by vforce1 View Post
then im not sure as to why its doing this..
Are your amps hooked up to the battery ?
xrunndonex is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-21-2013, 05:55 PM   #24
xrunndonex
Registered User
1994 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: coffeyville, Kansas
Posts: 1,678
Quote:
Originally Posted by xrunndonex View Post

Are your amps hooked up to the battery ?
Fuse good? remote wire hooked up?
xrunndonex is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-21-2013, 06:28 PM   #25
vforce1
Registered User
1995 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: paramus, nj
Posts: 53
yes everything works only one amp. kenwood , actually the subs work when i try to connect both when the speakers go out the subs still play i may need to look at the head unit again. after all i wasn't the one who installed it
vforce1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-21-2013, 07:00 PM   #26
xrunndonex
Registered User
1994 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: coffeyville, Kansas
Posts: 1,678
Quote:
Originally Posted by vforce1 View Post
yes everything works only one amp. kenwood , actually the subs work when i try to connect both when the speakers go out the subs still play i may need to look at the head unit again. after all i wasn't the one who installed it
Oh **** I had that happen to me I forgot what I did though lol
xrunndonex is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-21-2013, 07:01 PM   #27
xrunndonex
Registered User
1994 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: coffeyville, Kansas
Posts: 1,678
Quote:
Originally Posted by vforce1 View Post
yes everything works only one amp. kenwood , actually the subs work when i try to connect both when the speakers go out the subs still play i may need to look at the head unit again. after all i wasn't the one who installed it
Are the mids still factory
xrunndonex is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-21-2013, 08:14 PM   #28
vforce1
Registered User
1995 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: paramus, nj
Posts: 53
no they look like sony xploits from what i can tell with out taking off the panels they both work if i hook one up or the other... there once was a sound system but was taken out before the car was sold or something.. because there is a heavy gauge ground that im reusing that was left over from before
vforce1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-21-2013, 08:18 PM   #29
xrunndonex
Registered User
1994 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: coffeyville, Kansas
Posts: 1,678
Quote:
Originally Posted by vforce1 View Post
no they look like sony xploits from what i can tell with out taking off the panels they both work if i hook one up or the other...
Hmm fuse on the headunit good? your hu should be able to power them won't be there full potential but noise will come out I'm confused
xrunndonex is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-21-2013, 08:37 PM   #30
vforce1
Registered User
1995 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: paramus, nj
Posts: 53
fuse is good. im stumped..
vforce1 is offline   Reply With Quote




Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.