No Front Driveshaft - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > No Front Driveshaft

FS: Wrangler RGB Multicolor Fog Light LEDs: Awesome EffectSavvy Aluminum Gas Tank SkidFS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye Kit

Unread 10-24-2013, 11:16 PM   #1
timtuttlez3531
1995 ZJ 

No Front Driveshaft

Hey all. I currently own a 95 Laredo, 5.2 4WD. The thing is it has no front driveshaft. Ive been driving it around like this for about 5 months and was curious if this is bad for the vehicle. I don't do any pulling or off-roading at all. My old man was my go to guy for these kinds of things but he recently passed and if I lose this Jeep, I am beyond screwed. Any help or input is appreciated. Thanks everyone.

timtuttlez3531 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-24-2013, 11:26 PM   #2
BoostinBubba
1996 ZJ 

Its possible to damage the viscous coupler inside the transfer case running without a front driveshaft. Damage has probably already been done, though, pick up a $75 case from the pull-a-part when you go to get a front driveshaft just in case.
BoostinBubba is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-24-2013, 11:54 PM   #3
timtuttlez3531
1995 ZJ 

Okay. Good to know. Thanks a lot man.
Unread 10-25-2013, 07:47 AM   #4
WhiteOut
Web Wheeler

1998 ZJ 

The VC is shot at this point. Your two options are to swap in a 242 or 231 transfer case (thread in the stickies) or replace the VC ($350 part, few hours work). MIght as well leave the driveshaft out at this point, but make sure you are using the e-brake since the 93-95 years will roll in park without the front driveshaft in.
WhiteOut is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-25-2013, 11:44 AM   #5
timtuttlez3531
1995 ZJ