New TPS and idle is now higher - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > New TPS and idle is now higher

JK specific skid plates from Clayton Off Road Mfg.RCV Heavy Duty Axle Shafts Now Shipping at Baseline4x4.comStainless Steel Door Hinge Pins

Reply
Unread 06-15-2013, 05:55 PM   #1
biggreen
Registered User
1995 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chino Hills
Posts: 116
New TPS and idle is now higher

So I got my new motor back 5.2L and installed and it was idling at like 1000-1200RPM in park but would drop to 500 in drive. I replaced the TPS thinking that would be the problem. Now the idle is at 1500. What now??/

biggreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-15-2013, 06:21 PM   #2
PolkaPower
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The Abyss, MD
Posts: 15,078
Iac?
__________________
1998 5.9
Originally Posted by jabba974
"And yes, there is always a torque spec...but its not necessary...and takes way to much time...."
PolkaPower is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-15-2013, 06:25 PM   #3
biggreen
Registered User
1995 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chino Hills
Posts: 116
Should I pull it off and clean it? I mean I don't know
biggreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-15-2013, 06:32 PM   #4
PolkaPower
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The Abyss, MD
Posts: 15,078
Well if it hasn't been cleaned before it can't hurt. It's free too.
__________________
1998 5.9
Originally Posted by jabba974
"And yes, there is always a torque spec...but its not necessary...and takes way to much time...."
PolkaPower is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-15-2013, 07:16 PM   #5
biggreen
Registered User
1995 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chino Hills
Posts: 116
Well that fixed it. Put in a new iac and came right down to about 500
biggreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-15-2013, 08:04 PM   #6
PolkaPower
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The Abyss, MD
Posts: 15,078
__________________
1998 5.9
Originally Posted by jabba974
"And yes, there is always a torque spec...but its not necessary...and takes way to much time...."
PolkaPower is offline   Reply With Quote




Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.