New member with questions.... - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > New member with questions....

WJ Tube Doors Now Available!*VOTE NOW Help Metalcloak Giveaway an XJ Suspension*TJ 5.25" Speaker Adapters - NalinMFG

Unread 06-26-2001, 11:53 PM   #1
Tim K

New member with questions....

Well, I'll be honest with you...I have been driving another American-made SUV for the past 4 yrs...you know the one...(hint Firestone)...ok, so we got that out of the way...

Anyway, its time for a change, and I wasn't sure what I was looking to get into until I walked past a new '01 JGC Limited. I love the styling. So I began doing some research and learned alot. However, I still have a bunch of questions which I am hoping you guys can answer for me.

Just FYI...I don't plan on doing any off-roading, just want 4wd in case of snow and I don't expect to do any towing. This will be a 99% on-road vehicle.

So on to the questions (all of these are regarding a 2001 JGC Limited):

1) My Exp....is well, sluggish. I want quicker acceleration. I realize that SUV's are trucks, but I want something that I am confident can get me up to highway merging speeds without a 2 mile onramp. Is a JGC my best bet???? (I recall seeing a commercial a while back toting it as the "fastest SUV on Earth"...any truth to that?

2) Can someone talk me through Trak-lok or Vari-lok or whatever Jeep is calling it these days? I basically want a 4wd with a limited slip. What option/package do I need to get a limited slip?