new jeep owner very frusturated - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > new jeep owner very frusturated

Bead Lock Wheels! Raceline, Trail Ready, & Trail-GearXHD Heavy-Duty Hood Latches for JK and TJ available at OcoSYE Kits from CCOR! 706-207-4140

Unread 05-19-2008, 04:47 PM   #1
turnerjc03

new jeep owner very frusturated

Hi i am very new to jeeps and so far i am extreamly happy with it. the only problem that i have is that the jeeps power control module is malfuctioning. i am told that it needs a new PCM. so far inorder to get back and forth to work is to take the negative battery cables off the jeep and let it set then place the battery cables back on and it starts up. it is starting to become frusturating because i cant afford to buy a brand new one and i was told that you have to have the used ones programmed with the vin number. can you guys offer any suggestions or maybe tell me if anyone else has experienced this.
thanks

turnerjc03 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 05-19-2008, 05:21 PM   #2
dels383ta
1996 ZJ 

dont see why you would have to get it programed,as long as it is for the same model,and year,with the same engine and drive line.I never heard of having to reprogram unless you want to change the peramiters that it is sending to the components that it controls,to get more power or somethng to that effect.
dels383ta is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 05-19-2008, 05:28 PM   #3
BucYouUp68
2013 JK Wrangler 

What Year Jeep, and is it throwing Codes?

Not hard, if you have a socket wrench and the mental capacity of a ham sandwich.
BucYouUp68 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message