New to Jeep, AWD, and automatic transmissions. - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > New to Jeep, AWD, and automatic transmissions.

Trick Tabs - NalinMFG.comECGS American Made Stub ShaftsDisc Brake Kits from ECGS

Unread 07-18-2013, 03:11 PM   #1
firsttimeawd
1993 ZJ 

New to Jeep, AWD, and automatic transmissions.

Hi, Im the new owner of a 1993 Jeep Grand Cherokee. It has a 5.2 MPI with and automatic AWD transmission. It has 203,xxx miles on it. I have no experience with v8's, automatic transmissions, AWD or Jeep's at all. Most of my automotive experience is with turbo 4 cyl and manual transmissions. I just had a few questions about these SUV's.

1. Are there any common problems with the engine/transmissions? I saw on tv that they were trying to make Dodge recall all Grand Cherokee's for the fuel tank fire but did not hear anything about it.

2. Is there a way to just drive around in 2wd or is it All Time AWD? I saw the lever that says 4D 2D and 4lo but not sure if you can drive on 2D for too long.

3. I am posting a picture of a phantom hose that I saw hanging underneath the car today. I checked and it seems to be coming from the transmission. I know it's a vacuum hose but unsure for what. (Posting picture of it below.)

4. The gear selecter is extremely mushy feeling. It's hard to tell if it is in Park or Reverse. Just today I left the car running in park with my fiance and baby in the car and I ran inside to close to garage and the car jumped into reverse and started going into the street. She had to jump in the driver seat and hit the brake.