New Cat. Or Straight Pipe? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > New Cat. Or Straight Pipe?

Savvy Billet LED Tail LightsLight up the holidays with LED lights from JeepHutIntroducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Unread 09-05-2003, 12:44 PM   #1
GrandRubicon155

New Cat. Or Straight Pipe?

well my cat. converter is rattleing very badly so i'm pretty sure it's burnt out. after 170,000 i think that's a safe bet. now the issue is should i get a new stock cat. a high flow cat. or just put a test pipe on, and get a cat. in 2 years when i have to get emmisions done. i have a flowmaster exhaust, do you think the straight pipe would make a noticable difference? what do you guys think?

sean

Unread 09-05-2003, 03:15 PM   #2
Joseph Humphrey

it would all depend on what you are going to be using your zj for...? if its just a street jeep i would get a stock cat.
if you are trying to put together a performance jeep and a little off roading, get a high flo cat.
if its just a rock crawler, just put a straight 3" pipe from the headers...

sorry if my reply really doesnot answer your question, but there you go just the same.
The Almighty 2" BB Jeep Club Member #34 (no more BB)
----------------
[B]Silver 98 ZJ 4.0 I-6[/B]
K&N FIPK Gen II
JKS Adjustable Track Bars F and R
JKS Adjustable Control Arms
JKS Quicker Disco's
Kevins 3.5" Lift Kit w/ MX-6 Shocks
US Wheel 15x8 10 spoke black Steelies, 31" BFG AT KO rubber
Joseph Humphrey is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 09-06-2003, 10:48 AM   #3
boing

I say forget about stock either go high flow or no cat

Boing
boing is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 09-07-2003, 07:53 PM   #4
Camster