Lucas - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > Lucas

Steering and more from Ruffstuff!Ruffstuff 3 Link Kit!FS: Wrangler RGB Multicolor Fog Light LEDs: Awesome Effect

Unread 04-09-2013, 01:19 PM   #1
just_urd
1998 ZJ 

Lucas

I'm sure this has been addressed before. What are the thoughts/feelings of using Lucas additives in either the engine and or transmission?

just_urd is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 04-09-2013, 01:37 PM   #2
Purcell69
1993 ZJ 

Opinions very. Personally, I've been using their products for the past 15 years in all of my vehicles without complaint. I have a 1951 Harry Ferguson tractor that has been needing a crank kit since I purchased it about 10 years ago, due to loose rods. I run a 50/50 mix of SAE 60 oil and Lucas Oil Stabilizer in the pan and on the hottest of days, oil pressure never drops below 20 PSI.

In my 1993 AX-15 ZJ, I added Lucas Oil Stab to both the engine and MT. At current, I have just under 260k miles on the entire original drivetrain, with no oil consumption between changes. I have no reason to believe it won't go another 260k.

-Joe
Purcell69 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 04-09-2013, 02:30 PM   #3
gearheadnick
1997 ZJ 

I've had no problems with Lucas in the engine oil of various vehicles. As a personal rule, I do my best to avoid adding anything other than atf in the trans.
Unread 04-09-2013, 02:48 PM   #4
PolkaPower
1998 ZJ