Low oil Pressure - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > Low oil Pressure

Rockridge 4WD IS Taking Zone Offroad Suspension Lift Kits Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineRuffstuff Axle Simple Swap Kit!

Unread 12-27-2004, 11:40 AM   #1
doghouse1212

Low oil Pressure

This is my first time on the forum so I'll try not to bore anyone. I just bught a 99 Grand Cherokee V8, I have started getting a check gauges lite. It on beacuse at an idle the oil pressure is real low. Any simple fix ideas aside from the oil pump??

doghouse1212 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 12-27-2004, 02:09 PM   #2
Meerkat
1996 ZJ 

Just out of idle curiosity, how many posts does one have to have before he is allowed to bore people?

Your problem is most likely not the oil pump. The first thing to check is, of course, your oil level. If it is full, then the most likely culprit is the oil pressure sending unit. Which should be located on the forward end of the engine block just above the oil filter on your Jeep.

HTH
Unread 12-27-2004, 05:12 PM   #3
cajunmudder

yeah i had the same problem last week. I checked the sending unit and there was oil everywhere and it was spinning around so i replaced it and it works great.
Visonik 12" Sub
Custom Fiberglass Box
MA Audio M1889i Amp
Magnaflow Exhaust
Rusty's 2" BB
Dunlop 265/75/16 mud rovers
[/COLOR]
cajunmudder is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 12-27-2004, 05:29 PM   #4
nagos420

Just replaced mine too, its most likely your problem also
nagos420 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 12-28-2004, 11:57 AM   #5
97grand

Optimally, how high should the oil pressure be?