Lets see if anyone can figure this one out! - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > Lets see if anyone can figure this one out!

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineYear End Clearance Sale! Save 20%Warn, Smitybilt, Engo, Rugged Ridge Winches at CCOR

Unread 09-25-2009, 12:25 PM   #1
Darmon6669

Lets see if anyone can figure this one out!

Ok, im new to jeeps. This problem has been driving me crazy... I have a 1996 Grand Cherokee Larado 4.0L with select trac 4x4, I bought it from a guy that hit a curb hard with the right front wheel. So hard that it pushed the diff into the oil pan wrecking the oil pump and engine. So i bought an engine from a 1991 cherokee with seems to be the identicle block, I installed the engine and a new front diff and the truck runs great! BUT only in park.

I try and shift to reverse and it dies, It will go in drive and neutral fine only if its cold and in drive it will actualy drive fine for about 50 feet and the tranny grabs instantly and feels perfect when its cold and then it stalls, but let everything heat up and it dies instantly as soon as it shifts out of park. I have even tryed reving it to 3000 and going from park to neutral but still dies!!!

My only thought is it needs a new Torque converter or TCM, It seems as soon as its not in park even with out the tranny engaging there is a big load on the engine or some how fuel or ignition is being cut off!!

If anyone has had this problem or any ideas of something im overlooking please help!! Thanks in advance!

Darmon6669 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 09-25-2009, 01:25 PM   #2
driabyor
1994 ZJ 

did you switch all the electronics from you old engine..