Leaking T-Case- Front output? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > Leaking T-Case- Front output?

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineRubicon Express Suspensions from CCOR 706-207-4140Smittybilt Hard Tops @ Oconee Off-Road! 706-534-9955

Unread 07-16-2013, 06:34 PM   #1
Shekels
1995 ZJ 

Leaking T-Case- Front output?

As it states I have a leaking transfer case,

1995 zj
5.2 v8
249 t-case

Now I know every one will say swap the 249 for a real transfer case and I agree however im a broke college student at the moment and just need to stop this leak.

It never leaked like this before. Put the rough country long arm lift kit on it mobbed it pretty hard and still nothing leaked. Then it sits in my driveway for a week and a puddle appears out of no where.

its not the weep hole, thats caked in dirt, its not the breather either, pretty much the whole case is dry except that joint going to the front drive shaft, has a pretty steady flow. maybe a drip a minute.

Is this front output seal? I know the viscous coupler on these things tend to go and i figure mines about done but does the VC leak?

any help would be great I really appreciate it!

img_1985.jpg  
Shekels is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-16-2013, 07:08 PM   #2
dnuccio
1995 ZJ 

its the front output seal. easy to replace, just disconnect the front driveshaft from the transfer case, remove the yoke (30mm nut IIRC) and replace the seal. the VC is within the transfer case near the rear output
Unread 07-16-2013, 07:48 PM   #3
Shekels
1995 ZJ 

That was my suspicion, was scratching my head as to what else would be leaking, seems like an easy fix ill post some pics when im done.

thanks again
Unread 07-27-2013, 03:04 PM   #4