Keyless Entry for a WJ - JeepForum.com
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 06-02-2009, 10:44 AM Thread Starter
W3MOT
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 235
Keyless Entry for a WJ

Hello,

I am looking for an OEM keyless entry remote for a WJ. I know they're on ebay, but I do not know how to program it.. What do I have to go through to program this thing? I'm assuming that I have to take it to the dealer.. How much would that cost?

Thanks!

W3MOT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 06-02-2009, 11:09 AM
alexsious
Registered User
2002 WJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Leesburg
Posts: 487
its like 50-60 bucks to have the dealer program it
alexsious is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 06-02-2009, 11:26 AM
Wheelin98TJ
JEEP FREAK
 
Wheelin98TJ's Avatar
1998 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 25,883
You need a scanner to program the keyless entry fob.
Wheelin98TJ is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 06-02-2009, 11:54 AM Thread Starter
W3MOT
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 235
Crap. Anything cheaper?
W3MOT is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 06-02-2009, 12:28 PM
Wheelin98TJ
JEEP FREAK
 
Wheelin98TJ's Avatar
1998 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 25,883
Quote:
Originally Posted by W3MOT View Post
Crap. Anything cheaper?
Probably not.

The DRBIII scan tool you need costs about $6,000.

The shops that have them want to recover their cost, so they charge for using them.
Wheelin98TJ is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 06-02-2009, 12:43 PM
MJeep04
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Orlando
Posts: 19
I had a mustang Cobra, and I was able to program it myself with a certain sequence of events. There is not something like this on the jee?
MJeep04 is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 06-02-2009, 02:00 PM
Wheelin98TJ
JEEP FREAK
 
Wheelin98TJ's Avatar
1998 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 25,883
Quote:
Originally Posted by MJeep04 View Post
I had a mustang Cobra, and I was able to program it myself with a certain sequence of events. There is not something like this on the jee?
Nope, you must use a scanner.

Save your time searching Google and anywhere else. There are no tricks to programming these remotes.
Wheelin98TJ is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 06-02-2009, 02:06 PM
crashcraddock
Registered User
2000 WJ 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Moore, OK
Posts: 402
Can you program any remote from a WJ to work?
crashcraddock is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Jeep Forums Replies Last Post
Keyless entry grandcbs ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum 3 02-23-2008 08:52 PM
Keyless entry tracer ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum 6 01-31-2007 12:15 AM
Keyless entry Mr Q X ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum 2 07-19-2006 06:18 PM
Keyless Entry brillmtu ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum 2 06-06-2006 04:31 PM
95 Keyless entry ZJenvy ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum 10 09-14-2005 09:35 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome