Just bout a 98 ZJ and have some problems. - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > Just bout a 98 ZJ and have some problems.

Light up the holidays with LED lights from JeepHutDon't forget the Jeep Forum discount, 10% off!The Original 3/8" Ruffstuff Diff Cover!

Unread 06-01-2013, 08:20 PM   #1
Badmunky
1998 ZJ 

Just bout a 98 ZJ and have some problems.

Okay so Ill try to keep it short. On Saturday the 25th I bout a 98 Grand Cherokee Laredo 4x4 with the 4.0.

It has a few problems I need some help with. I'm new to Jeeps and to 4x4s, this will be my first one that runs.

So a list of what I know to be wrong with it right now.

Steering box has excessive play, and will not center properly.
Head lights are shot. (Drives side is yellow, and leaks. Passengers side is broken.)
Fan clutch is locked on all the time.
Steering wheel is falling apart.
4x4 works but has a hard time shifting out of 4x4 in to 2wd. And gets stuck in 4x4 low. Suspect cable / linkage needs service.
Runs great, but will some times bog about 1 min after you start it. Will back fire threw intake if you gas on it when it bogs. But it runs great, has good power, idles good, and starts right up. No idea why its doing this?
Its getting crap fuel mileage. 13.4mpg.
Header is cracked. Not sure what to replace it with.
Spare tire is shot. Going to get a new one.
Alarm keeps going off at random. I think I traced it to bad sensor for the dome lights in the hatch. Not sure if this fixed it yet thou.
Speakers are all blown.
Head liner is sagging in spots.
Rust hole in passengers rocker near front fender. Going to have this fixed for $300 by a local body shop. Its the only rust any where on the truck.