iterm loss of cam/crank sensor code - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > iterm loss of cam/crank sensor code

Savvy/Currie Aluminum Control ArmsROCK BOTTOM prices on LIFT KITS at Rockridge4wd!! WANT TO December Specials at Jeephut.com

Reply
Unread 08-10-2013, 01:51 AM   #1
jpc1984
Registered User
1998 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: vancouver, wa
Posts: 3
iterm loss of cam/crank sensor code

I have a 98 grand cherokee laredo 4.0 I was wondering anyone has seen this or had this code I recently replaced my lifters annd cam shaft and after It was complete thos code came up and misfire and jerked really bad first I replaced the crank sensor it helped but still felt like it was missing did new plugs cap and rotor wire are pretty much new still missing. So I got a distributor with a pick up coil and now it runs really good but the code is still coming back I beleive its p1391 has anyone else had this problem ot seen this that can help me out

jpc1984 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 08-10-2013, 10:04 AM   #2
chris87xj
Moderator
 
chris87xj's Avatar
1987 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: 3rd rock from sun
Posts: 6,710
Welcome to Jeepforum.
I moved this thread to the Grand Cherokee forum section where your fellow ZJ drivers can best assist.
chris87xj is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 08-10-2013, 10:11 AM   #3
coralman
I can wish can't I?
 
coralman's Avatar
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: florida
Posts: 4,812
Check you sensor connections and also were the sensors mopar? You did clear the codes{have to ask}?
__________________
Links to axle rebuilds, mount replace,a/c box rebuild,ect in history section of my profile page
coralman is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 08-10-2013, 11:12 AM   #4
jpc1984
Registered User
1998 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: vancouver, wa
Posts: 3
Yes I cleared the codes the crank sensor is mopar the distrbutor is not it was brand new and it came with a pick up coil on it. It runs really good now. But the just keeps coming back for some reason
jpc1984 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 08-10-2013, 11:18 AM   #5
dusterdude
Registered User
1996 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: hopewell, va
Posts: 2,044
Sounds like the distributor/timing is off
dusterdude is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 08-10-2013, 12:06 PM   #6
ZeeJay1997
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sweet Home, Alabama
Posts: 6,879
the code is for intermittent crank (spark timing) or cam (fuel timing) sensor signal.

the cam sensor connector can open up while running and you'll never know it. the PCM goes into open loop fuel strategy and uses default settings to the injectors.

if the crank sensor wiring opens up, the PCM pulls the ground to the ASD relay, shutting the engine off.

so based on this and what you posted, i'd say you need to clean and re-seat the cam sensor connection as Coralman suggested and see how it does.
ZeeJay1997 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 08-10-2013, 12:17 PM   #7
jpc1984
Registered User
1998 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: vancouver, wa
Posts: 3
Thanks everyone
So should I use a drb to sync the two sensors its just something I have heard but not sure if this is true
jpc1984 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 08-10-2013, 01:04 PM   #8
ZeeJay1997
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sweet Home, Alabama
Posts: 6,879
rotor button points to 5 o'clock position with timing mark on 0 and #1 on TDC of compression stroke
ZeeJay1997 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 08-10-2013, 01:41 PM   #9
coralman
I can wish can't I?
 
coralman's Avatar
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: florida
Posts: 4,812
Sync only applies to V8's if I'mnot mistaken.
__________________
Links to axle rebuilds, mount replace,a/c box rebuild,ect in history section of my profile page
coralman is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.
Note: All free e-mails have been banned due to mis-use. (Yahoo, Gmail, Hotmail, etc.)
Don't have a non-free e-mail address? Click here for a solution: Manual Account Creation
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Thread Tools






Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.