Introduction thread/intermittent breakdown - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > Introduction thread/intermittent breakdown

FS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye KitTHE NEW! VANCO DUAL MODE 15/16″ Big Brake Kit w/BlaFS: Wranger BRIGHT License Plate LED! Just $3! Great value

Unread 07-17-2011, 07:10 AM   #1
LinBaba

Introduction thread/intermittent breakdown

I have just acquired a 1996 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited with 126,000 miles on it, it has the 5.2 V-8, it was literally owned by a little old lady who drove it to the store and church (friends grandmother) who bought it new

I am brand new to Jeep but recently restored a 1972 Mercedes 350SL by using a forum similar to this one, I have some -basic- mechanical skills, I can loosen and tighten nuts (a skill I learned from listening to my girlfriend, although she puts mine in a vise before she tightens them)

It has an oil leak, drips from under the oil pan and I am pretty sure 99.9999% it's the rear main oil seal, I have three different "how to" threads saved for changing that in the near future

Now my question is this, the car died while driving (for the last owner) and she had it towed home, she said it would start then only drive 10 feet and die again (didn't ask whether that was later or right then) but the impression I got was she tried again at home and the vehicle wouldn't run

the car sat for a year, since I restored the Mercedes, and her grandson, who purchased the car, was quoted a price of 1500 dollars to replace the rear main seal, he "gifted" me the car on the condition I fix it and get it up and running