IL 6 Tune-Up - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > IL 6 Tune-Up

JEEP Gear Change Packages From ROCKRIDGE 4WD. We Are DIFFSavvy Billet LED Tail LightsNEW JK WRANGLER GRAB BARS NOW at ROCKRIDGE4WD

Unread 02-23-2008, 12:16 PM   #1
cweb
2005 WK 

IL 6 Tune-Up

I'm planning on changing the sparkplugs on my '00 JGC Laredo in the next month or two. I'm not a mechanic by any means, I can change my oil, replace brake pads and such, will this be a difficult task? Anything special I need to watch for while doing it? Also, any recommendations on plugs? The more money I spend on plugs they better off I am a true statement?

cweb is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 02-23-2008, 12:21 PM   #2
QuadraTokn
1930 WJ 

Easy task, esp. on the 4.0. I would rather do it than brakes. Use only the stock replacement plugs for best results. I think they are champion truck plugs, not sure.
QuadraTokn is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 02-23-2008, 09:45 PM   #3
greasefingers
1994 ZJ 

The distributor cap is labeled for the #1 cylinder and the intake manifold has the firing order stamped on it. The rotation of the rotor is clockwise. Thatís all the info necessary to do the job other than paying attention to details.

You always replace the cap, rotor, wires, & plugs at the same time (every 30,000 miles)

94 Black Laredo 4-Liter with QuadraTrac (42RE trans & NP249 TC) 200,000 + miles purchased new

88 Cherokee 2-door with 5speed manual 139K miles(deceased) purchased new
greasefingers is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 02-23-2008, 10:42 PM   #4
Vestjam

2008 JK Wrangler