How to install 8in sub - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > How to install 8in sub

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineGrizzly Lockers available at Rockridge4wd.comThe ULTIMATE "Selectable" Locker System! Brough

Reply
Unread 08-02-2009, 04:38 PM   #1
grandneuman
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: wyoming
Posts: 33
How to install 8in sub

I am in need of some instructions on how to install an 8 in sub in my 98 jeep grand cherokee. Anything will help. thanks

grandneuman is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 08-02-2009, 04:42 PM   #2
gbauer
Registered User
1999 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Frederick
Posts: 348
Quote:
Originally Posted by grandneuman View Post
I am in need of some instructions on how to install an 8 in sub in my 98 jeep grand cherokee. Anything will help. thanks
It would help to know what kind of sub you have. Is it just a bare sub or do you have a box and amp? not enough info here...
gbauer is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 08-02-2009, 04:42 PM   #3
rustynail
Registered User
1996 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia, British Columbia
Posts: 1,108
You need to be a lot more specific
__________________
- Russ
5.9 ORVIS 33x12.5 MTR-Kevlar, 7" fr adj IR LA's, 7" rr adj RE SF SA's, adj JKS TB's, RE SB disc, RE Springs, JKS ACOS, 13" RS9000XL's, OME SS, NP231, Durango box, IR Sliders, IR Skid, 3" Flowmaster 70, K&N, Superwinch EPi9.0, Optima Yel, 2 air comp, Alpine, Garmin, Sunroof
rustynail is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 08-02-2009, 04:50 PM   #4
Kruzin
Registered User
1993 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Casper, WY.
Posts: 3,165
Buy a box for it. Screw it to the floor in back. Run wires to it.
__________________
DD/Wheeler: 98 ZJ 5.2, 4.5" on 33s
DD/Wifeys: 00 XJ, stock
Weekend toy: 13 Challenger R/T Blacktop
Kruzin is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 08-02-2009, 04:54 PM   #5
gbauer
Registered User
1999 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Frederick
Posts: 348
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kruzin View Post
Buy a box for it. Screw it to the floor in back. Run wires to it.
You forgot to say "turn on stereo".
gbauer is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 08-02-2009, 07:52 PM   #6
Chris93zj
Registered User
1993 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Appleton WI
Posts: 192
^and get some wire nuts, duct tape, and other electrical-gemlin causing things on that order...

Seriously tho, you'll need an amplifier, power/ground wires (size varying on your amp size), a Line output converter if you're running from a factory radio, RCA's to connect to the amp input, a box, some speaker wire, and screws to mount the sub into the box. If you're seriously taking this on and have no idea what to connect them to, get help before messing it up. It'll be cheaper up front than fixing mistakes afterwards. If you're comfortable with it, go for it...it's not that bad!
Chris93zj is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 08-02-2009, 08:37 PM   #7
cloiselle
Registered User
2001 WJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Kankakee, IL
Posts: 717
audio section of the forums..............


mount in box, wire up , use crutchfield.com for wiring diagrams to match the impedence of your sub and amp, connect rca cables to head unit or splice in rca line converter to your factory amplifier, check this to do that....

http://jeepsunlimited.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=397627
cloiselle is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 08-07-2009, 10:02 AM   #8
grandneuman
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: wyoming
Posts: 33
The sub i got for free from a friend, not sure on brand but is already in box.
would it be possible to use the stock infinity gold amp or would i need a new amp.
grandneuman is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 08-07-2009, 10:32 AM   #9
Chris93zj
Registered User
1993 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Appleton WI
Posts: 192
Aftermarket amp...period.
Chris93zj is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 08-07-2009, 11:17 AM   #10
SnowLeopard
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 4,452
The infinity amp is just not up to par for aftermarket stuff. It can be a bit irksome setting up a Jeep with an aftermarket setup, but it's worth it. I still have no sub. Someday. Polk components kick the bass though. They're excellent speakers. Almost better than my Paradigm Legends for my home theater.
__________________
Yes, it snows in Texas.

"Roads? Where we're going we don't need roads"
SnowLeopard is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.
Note: All free e-mails have been banned due to mis-use. (Yahoo, Gmail, Hotmail, etc.)
Don't have a non-free e-mail address? Click here for a solution: Manual Account Creation
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Thread Tools


Suggested Threads





Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.