How to fix a leaky axle seal - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > How to fix a leaky axle seal

Dan's Old as Dirt Birthday Sale!Premium LED Lighting by VISION X, Proudly sold at ROCKRIDGGEARSHADE Pocket Tops in stock and available at ROCKRIDGE

Unread 01-21-2013, 12:43 PM   #1
xcaliber81
1994 ZJ 

How to fix a leaky axle seal

Is it a hard job, I am by no means a diff expert its my left front. I might add I did my universals a few months ago, I had it in a tranny shop to fix the cooler lines and they pointed that out could just a bit have leaked out I moniter it and I have never had to add fluid to it, however Its long overdue for a fluid change.

xcaliber81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-21-2013, 12:49 PM   #2
ratmonkey
R.I.P.

1997 ZJ 

need to remove the carrier to do it. not too hard, but you'll need a torque wrench and to come up with something tricky to drive the seals out and new ones in with. always replace those ones in pairs.

ratmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-22-2013, 07:38 PM   #3
tazz33
1998 ZJ 

Quote:
Originally Posted by xcaliber81 View Post
Is it a hard job, I am by no means a diff expert its my left front. I might add I did my universals a few months ago, I had it in a tranny shop to fix the cooler lines and they pointed that out could just a bit have leaked out I moniter it and I have never had to add fluid to it, however Its long overdue for a fluid change.
Did u by chance do the ones at the wheels?