How do I swap analogue odometer reading between old and new speedos? - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > How do I swap analogue odometer reading between old and new speedos?

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineGrizzly Lockers available at Rockridge4wd.comThe ULTIMATE "Selectable" Locker System! Brough

Reply
Unread 03-10-2012, 12:35 PM   #1
AVR2
Web Wheeler
1993 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 2,367
How do I swap analogue odometer reading between old and new speedos?

If you have to replace a speedo, how do you transfer the (analogue/mechanical) odometer reading? Can you actually swap the odometer itself between speedos, or do you have to manually adjust each digit on the new odo? If the latter, does it require special tools?

AVR2 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-10-2012, 12:41 PM   #2
Snap-on
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: MEXICO, GTO
Posts: 199
this question makes no sense to me i do not understand what you are saying
Snap-on is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-10-2012, 01:29 PM   #3
AVR2
Web Wheeler
1993 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 2,367
My speedo needle is broken. I will get a new speedo from a junkyard. When I do, the reading on its built-in odometer will obviously not be the same as the reading on the odometer of my faulty speedo. I will need to make the odometer reading on the new speedo match the reading on the old one so that the correct mileage reading stays with my ZJ. How do I do this?

Can I swap the odometer assembly from the old speedo to the new, or do I just have to adjust each digit manually on the new speedo to get the odometer reading to match the old one?
AVR2 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-10-2012, 11:53 PM   #4
ratmonkey
R.I.P.
 
ratmonkey's Avatar
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: , Pennsylvania
Posts: 19,794
Dealer process only.
__________________
'97 zj 5.2, some stuff, some other suff, and some things that even work sometimes.

ratmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-11-2012, 12:36 AM   #5
AVR2
Web Wheeler
1993 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 2,367
I have to take the new speedo to the dealer so that they can manually turn each digit on the odometer to match the old one?
AVR2 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-11-2012, 03:00 AM   #6
ratmonkey
R.I.P.
 
ratmonkey's Avatar
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: , Pennsylvania
Posts: 19,794
You can't just turn them.

Should cost half an hour labor.
__________________
'97 zj 5.2, some stuff, some other suff, and some things that even work sometimes.

ratmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-11-2012, 04:32 AM   #7
AVR2
Web Wheeler
1993 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 2,367
No offence intended, but I have to say that I'm skeptical that it really is a dealer-only job. When I get my new speedo I'll try disassembling the old one to see if the odometer is removable and swappable; it may just be a matter of a few screws. If you're right, I'll allow you to say "I told you so"
AVR2 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-11-2012, 10:12 AM   #8
ratmonkey
R.I.P.
 
ratmonkey's Avatar
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: , Pennsylvania
Posts: 19,794
I did some digging for you, you can't reset the odometer in manual gauges after 1991. They went to a tamper proof design.
__________________
'97 zj 5.2, some stuff, some other suff, and some things that even work sometimes.

ratmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-11-2012, 10:57 PM   #9
AVR2
Web Wheeler
1993 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 2,367
OK, thanks. I'll check with the dealer to see if they still offer this service and how much they'll hit me for it.
AVR2 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.
Note: All free e-mails have been banned due to mis-use. (Yahoo, Gmail, Hotmail, etc.)
Don't have a non-free e-mail address? Click here for a solution: Manual Account Creation
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Thread Tools


Suggested Threads





Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.