how can i still use my radio controls with an after market radio - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > how can i still use my radio controls with an after market radio

SYE Kits from CCOR! 706-207-4140Smittybilt Hard Tops @ Oconee Off-Road! 706-534-9955SPARTAN LOCKERS are on sale BIG TIME at ROCKRIDGE 4WD!

Reply
Unread 04-22-2012, 02:00 PM   #1
ryann93
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: shally, nc
Posts: 7
how can i still use my radio controls with an after market radio

Please help...

ryann93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-22-2012, 02:07 PM   #2
97TSiguy
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 35
I dont think its possible. Thats the main reason im still rockin my factory deck, the second is to see peoples faces when i bust out some old school casette tapes. They never skip no matter how rough the trail gets.
97TSiguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-22-2012, 02:11 PM   #3
98GCLimited
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: LHC, AZ
Posts: 486
IF it will even work with our vehicles you would need something like this:

http://www.crutchfield.com/S-8zISNy2...-Adapters.html

And they cost $70+.
98GCLimited is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-22-2012, 02:57 PM   #4
thegabe
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryann93
Please help...
I have mine working with a Sony aftermarket radio using this PAC device: http://www.crutchfield.com/p_127SWIX...X.html?tp=3405
thegabe is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-23-2012, 10:19 AM   #5
ryann93
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: shally, nc
Posts: 7
What do you have?
ryann93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-23-2012, 10:35 AM   #6
ryann93
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: shally, nc
Posts: 7
thanks for the link man, I'm deff gonna get one of those.
ryann93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-28-2013, 04:50 PM   #7
Football47
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 237
Can you just do some wire splicing to make the wheel controls work with an after market deck?
__________________
Can't beat a Jeep
Football47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-28-2013, 04:55 PM   #8
rebelbowtie
Registered User
2000 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Daphne, AL
Posts: 2,170
PAC has you covered, I have one in my GM and Toyota.
__________________
He's an angel dressed in oilskins; he's a saint in the "Sou'wester,"
He's a pluck as they come, or ever can;
He's a hero born and bred, but it hasn't swelled his head,
For he's just the U.S. Government's hired man.
rebelbowtie is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-28-2013, 05:02 PM   #9
Football47
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 237
Quote:
Originally Posted by rebelbowtie View Post
PAC has you covered, I have one in my GM and Toyota.
Let me re-phrase my question, how can I make it work without spending money?
__________________
Can't beat a Jeep
Football47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-28-2013, 05:12 PM   #10
PolkaPower
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The Abyss, MD
Posts: 16,024
Quote:
Originally Posted by Football47 View Post
Let me re-phrase my question, how can I make it work without spending money?
Can't. I believe that is something that the stock radio is set up for specifically. That's why you need a module to wire into the aftermarket set up.
PolkaPower is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-28-2013, 05:19 PM   #11
Football47
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 237
Quote:
Originally Posted by PolkaPower View Post
Can't. I believe that is something that the stock radio is set up for specifically. That's why you need a module to wire into the aftermarket set up.
Can you rip that module out of the stock infinity radio???
__________________
Can't beat a Jeep
Football47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-28-2013, 05:20 PM   #12
PolkaPower
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The Abyss, MD
Posts: 16,024
Quote:
Originally Posted by Football47 View Post
Can you rip that module out of the stock infinity radio???
It's part of the radio so no. I just put a Kenwood in mine and now I use the remote control. I only used the steering wheel volume anyways.
PolkaPower is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-28-2013, 05:24 PM   #13
jeeepguy
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Earth
Posts: 2,521
Unless you have the skill to build an interface module (which will cost you money), you have to spend money on an interface module.
__________________
"Si Vis Pacem Para Bellum"

"Great danger lies in the notion that we can reason with evil"
Doug Patton
Quote:
...We use words like honor, code, loyalty. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent defending something. ...I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the blanket of the very freedom that I provide, then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said thank you, and went on your way, Otherwise, I suggest you pick up a weapon, and stand a post...
Quote:
I bought the HI-WAY BLASTER HORN that's 139dB and every time I honk the horn an Angel dies.
Quote:
Revelation 13:16-18
16 - He causes all, both small and great, rich and poor, free and slave, to receive a mark on their right hand or on their foreheads,
17 - and that no one may buy or sell except one who has the mark or the name of the beast, or the number of his name.
18 - Here is wisdom. Let him who has understanding calculate the number of the beast, for it is the number of a man: (Real ID and RFID chips)
Think about it...
jeeepguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-28-2013, 05:44 PM   #14
Football47
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 237
Quote:
Originally Posted by PolkaPower View Post
It's part of the radio so no. I just put a Kenwood in mine and now I use the remote control. I only used the steering wheel volume anyways.
I had mine ripped apart anyways but if anyone finds out suddenly you can do that lol just let me know.... since it's already ripped apart!
__________________
Can't beat a Jeep
Football47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Suggested Threads





Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.