Hit a deer, put it back to together, now its overheating? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > Hit a deer, put it back to together, now its overheating?

NEW JK WRANGLER GRAB BARS NOW at ROCKRIDGE4WDThe Original 3/8" Ruffstuff Diff Cover!Offset Tie Rod Kit From RuffStuff!

Unread 04-27-2012, 10:11 AM   #1
SteveMan88
1996 ZJ 

Hit a deer, put it back to together, now its overheating?

Hey y'all, I'm new here. I have a 1996 Grand Cherokee with 245,000 miles on a 4.0L. I am not a great mechanic so all the help I can get is greatly appreciated.

My question is: I hit a deer a few months back. I took it all apart and ended up replacing the Water pump, fan clutch, fan shroud header panel, hood, grill, radiator and thermostat. I test drove it the other day and its running rough so I am thinking the timing chain might have slipped on the impact (I was doin about 50) but the real puzzling part is that it's still overheating even with a new water pump, thermostat, and radiator?

Could this be linked to the timing chain slipping?

Plus when it overheats the first place I see steam is at the valve cover on the drivers side towards the middle.

SteveMan88 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 04-27-2012, 10:13 AM   #2
ZJMTL
1996 ZJ 

Kinda sounds like a head gasket, but I will let one of the more experienced guys chime in, because I am terrible at e diagnostics. How is your coolant level?
ZJMTL is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 04-27-2012, 11:19 AM   #3
Slim57
1994 ZJ 

Are you sure none of your lines are crimped? Any, I meany any leaks?
Slim57 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 04-27-2012, 12:34 PM   #4
paulyboy
1996 ZJ