On highway gear doesn't engage and rev shoot up. - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > On highway gear doesn't engage and rev shoot up.

Stainless Steel Door Hinge PinsPoly Door Hinge BushingsFS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye Kit

Unread 10-15-2012, 10:26 PM   #1
NoPeace
1994 ZJ 

On highway gear doesn't engage and rev shoot up.

Hey,

Noob Here. I've been having an issue with my vehicle and was wondering if anyone could give me some advice on things I can look at before I take it in.

When I'm on the highway from time to time around the 60-70 MPH it feels like my transmission disengages, I lose any acceleration and my RPMs shoot up to 3 or 4k (depending on how much gas I give it). On about a 1000 mile trip this happened to me maybe 3 or 4 times.

I was forced to pull off to the side of the road, turn the car off and on and everything is fine from then on.

Does anyone have any idea on whats going on here? The transmission has been completely replaced less than 4000 miles ago.

Thanks!

Last edited by NoPeace; 10-15-2012 at 10:37 PM..
NoPeace is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-15-2012, 10:33 PM   #2
JohnnyZJ
Web Wheeler

1992 YJ Wrangler 

your tranny is slipping. thats very bad.check the fluid, see what colour it is. i'd bet its brown sludge.......mechanic shop will tell you its pooched. a fluid flush/filter change might buy you some time though.

05' WK Hemi limited ~ family hauler

RIP 95 ZJ ~ 33s built/longarmed/locked/awesome Feb 2014 ZJOTM winner
JohnnyZJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-16-2012, 02:47 PM   #3
NoPeace
1994 ZJ 

Fluid is red, looks good. I got this transmission put in less than 4000 miles ago, I was told it had less than 80,000 miles on it.