Hi! Newbie here, 1996 ZJ - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > Hi! Newbie here, 1996 ZJ

Rampage Bowless Soft Top Oconee offroadAlloy USA Still AvailableAdvance Adapters SYE Kits

Unread 08-18-2013, 03:57 AM   #1
nodoze
1996 ZJ 

Hi! Newbie here, 1996 ZJ

Hi guys!

Just got a 1996 ZJ today with the 4.0 inline 6 Bought it from a Jeep family The mom's had 7 Jeeps, currently has a Wrangler. I bought the ZJ from her daughter, and the sister has a WJ.

There's absolutely no rust on the frame or underside, which is really rare here in Minnesota with the salted winter roads. I also noticed skid plates over the tank and the transfer case. 1 year old tires and 1 year old rims that look great. It has 195k miles but seems to be extremely well cared for.

The 4x4 lever has 2wd - 4part-time - 4full-time - N - 4LO. That's the SelecTrac, right? And that's the better transfer case?

Here are the issues it has:
-the front locks stick a little bit when using the remote, but I seem to understand it's easy to pull the doors off and clean/lube them
-right tail light is cracked, but that can be picked up at the junk yard
-the center console that lifts up seems to have a broken latch
-the info center says the rear hatch is open when it's not
-the rear hatch has some slight surface rust on the inside of the door on the bottom, but with some learning I should be able to clean that up
-the transfer case(?) is leaking, but it seems the bolts might work themselves lose, or else you can take part of the case out and put a new seal on? I do have a mechanic buddy that has a WJ that can help me with this